We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good change in El Paso, especially in a sea of tacos y burritos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Doner Kebab

Doner Kebab
Ranked #573 of 1,536 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: German, Turkish
Description: Great little fast food place, very small, very casual, great dining experience. They do not have a website.
Restaurant details
Description: Great little fast food place, very small, very casual, great dining experience. They do not have a website.
El Paso
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good change in El Paso, especially in a sea of tacos y burritos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went for the first time the other day. Wonderful customer service by the manager / owner. He really shows respect and consideration to the customers. The kebabb was good and cheap. Not fancy, but much better than fast food chains. He even gave me some free fries. Will defintely go back! Good food. Good prices. Good atmosphere. Good manager! Also, it seems pretty clean as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hit the ATM before you go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Cash only, but worth it! Now let me be clear: the döner is why people should go there, however it is not what you expect if you have ever had one in Turkey or Germany. But don't be disouraged to try it. The bread is different, they don't have the red herb sauce and the garlic sauce is tsasiki, which is Greek and the meet was pre-shaven and sitting in a crock pot. So it was more like a Gyro than a Döner Kebab. However it was really good. If you ever had Currywurst in Germany, you will appreciate their curry ketchup.

I will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaystraveling4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Now called J's Kebab! but still great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is now called J's Kebab! but still great food and prices. Owner works his butt off but the food is great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsawyer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This place is great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

To be honest I didn't even look at the menu. All I wanted was a Doner Kebab and that is what I got. With fry's of coarse. I haven't had a Doner for a few years and the first bite brought back so many great memories from when I lived in Germany. All the ingredients were fresh and just how I remember. I want to make this a regular stop. I have been a few times and the food is always great. The curry ketchup for the fry's is a must! The restaurant is on the small side like the other reviews said. But that is how kebab shops are. Even in Germany most only have a few booths. Cash is all they accept at the moment but there is an ATM inside. The owner has been there every time and is very friendly. Speaks German which is great, creates a nice vibe and makes you forget you are in El Paso. Cannot wait to go back!

It has also been renamed J's Kebab.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DANEM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reminded me of Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The doner was so good! Great variety of dishes, the owner was very kind, the staff was friendly. One of my favorite places! Everyone should go!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Echo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doner Kebab also viewed

 

Been to Doner Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing