We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise”

Rulis International Kitchen
Ranked #107 of 1,543 Restaurants in El Paso
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Birthday surprise”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We live in Alamogordo, food mecca of the world (NOT), and were picking up my new grill in El Paso...a lovely little (the thing is freakin' HUGE) birthday present. The spousal unit wanted tapas, and did her usual research. She found two other places, but were closed on the day we were there, a Monday. Ruli's was where we ended up. The place was packed when we got there as they had a group of cheerleaders from UTEP doing some sort of recognition meal. We were greeted right away. Service was a bit different as we started with one person, then another took over, and then another. No biggie, service was still good. I went to take a look at what was on tap, and fell into conversation with the 'bartender' *Spoiler Alert* It was Ruli, the owner. Holy knowledgeable about his beer selection! True, there were only five on tap, but he knew anything and everything about each, and helped me pair my beer with my tapas....an experience very much worth mentioning. Ok....so my beer was spot on. The gorgeous critter sitting across the table from me, however, had a different experience. She ordered the Sangria. It appeared to be a multi-layered beverage...interesting. Once mixed, she swore up and down it had 'cola' in it. I assured her it was a carbonated spritzer. Eh, turns out it was diet Pepsi...let's just say she wasn't impressed. We ordered food...yummy, yummy food. Manchego cheese with prosciutto drizzled with honey. Shrimpies in a great garlic/chili infused oil. Lamb nuggets...perfect. Bangers and mash...lovely with the pint. Desert...brie with a cranberry/balsamic compote...vinegar was a bit much to be honest. *Editor's note: descriptions are from this author's feeble memory and limited vernacular.
Found at the end of a strip mall, across the street from UTEP, I was very happy that my better half ended us here for dinner, and look forward to going back for the one item we wanted but could not get....the rock crab wontons....they were out of crab, apparently a key ingredient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_King_Rider1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,195 reviews
600 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 779 helpful votes
“very good but...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What others ordered looked really good via presentation. We felt like we wanted to sample everything. We shared the Mexican sliders and special of the week (sliced roast beef, onions cheese on a roll). We tried fried green beans and sweet potato fries for our sides. The sweet potato fries were a bit over seasoned. I never tried fried green beans before and found them to be fresh and crisp on the inside and tasty. The service was very attentive. We were both very disappointed with how the meat on the sliders was very tough and chewy. The atmosphere is nice for a lunch meeting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Second time just as good”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our second time experiencing the very fun Tuesday night special at Ruli's. Two-for-one appetizers and cheese plates. Some are outstanding, some merely okay, but the ability to sample several interesting dishes at such an affordable price is too much fun to pass up. The service is attentive but not intrusive. It's quiet enough to enjoy "date night" conversation, but the atmosphere is bright, not dull.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“DElish”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The clerk at the hotel suggested the restaurant. Although he was way off on the travel time, he was dead on accurate about deliciousness! Although they have a varied menu but we focused on the tapas. OUTSTANDING! The lamb 'lollipops' were our favorite followed by the Gambas Aiolli, shrimp nachos, bangers and mash, and the grilled calamari. Our server suggested the house Pinot Noir which was very tasty. Our server was attentive and very pleasant. A GREAT start to our visit to El Paso.

Helpful?
Thank DuraMater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect normal service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I like the food, but won't be returning because of the service and management. If your food seems undercooked to you, don't complain. We did, and the manager just gave a nasty look to me and rurned ger head. and a waiter simply disagreed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StaceyCould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rulis International Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Rulis International Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing