We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of climbing. Not for out of shape people”

Hueco Tanks State Historic Site
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanning more than 860 acres, this park is named for the large rock basins or "huecos" that have supplied water to this desert-like region for many centuries.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lots of climbing. Not for out of shape people”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

They have guided tours and it requires a lot of climbing. It is hot still so be prepared. It is very pretty and the guides are knowledgeable. We did see a SNAKE!! :/ scary... But I guess this is thier town, right?

If you are into mini rock climbing or have kids with lots of energy to work off this is a good place to go!

Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    50
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very Special!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Most of the park is restricted access, requiring tour guides. One weekend a year have an interpretive fair, where they offer a lot of guided tours and activities. Those activities include rare plant or birding tours, pictograph tours, climbing, Native American dances, and evening campfire story telling. The event is free, and a wonderful way to get to know the park. The pictographs are spectacular, and the scenery is beautiful. There is also a beautiful camp ground. Normally there is an admission fee for the park, so having a free weekend is great. I was blown away by the beauty of the park. It is an amazing treasure. Definitely recommend - a great place for people of all ages.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average I guess, could be more interesting if you are into rock climbing”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well we walked for a few hours in the mountains, it is all desert, apart from a watering hole that has some vegetation, there isn't much green or shade, bring a hat and water,it is not a really enjoyable place, except if you are a rock climber it could be interesting.
One time is enough for me.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family approved”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My 11 year old, 9 year old twins and 4 year old boys loved it. They will show you an educational video for 20 min... you can not climb unless you see the video. They are very protective of the park cause of the how small it is and how big people interaction with it affects it. There is plenty of Rangers. It's not a big park at all. Only the north mountain is open to the public without a guide.

The boys had a blast leaping from boulder to boulder and looking at the the different eco systems and history the video had teached them. Once we reach the top of the north mountain we lost our way cause there is not trail per say. You won't get lost cause its not big but you can easily get disoriented cause of lack of a trail on the boulders. It took us about 4 hours to the top and down mostly because we could not find a way down. Take lotsss of water specially if doing it in the summer. You remember you are in the dessert and on top of boulders which the sun heats up.

They do have picnic and camping areas and restrooms.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank julio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A warm step into the desert.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was a great park with the only problem being that access is limited to 70 people. I called the number on the web site for redervations and was told it was wrong. Had to call Austin to reserve a spot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hueco Tanks State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Hueco Tanks State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing