We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Very Expensive”

Carino's Italian Grill
Ranked #104 of 1,543 Restaurants in El Paso
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: From our signature Handmade Lasagna to our famous Spicy Shrimp and Chicken, Carino's offers Italian
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very Expensive”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant was nice and clean. The waiter was very friendly and the food was pretty good. The biggest problem we had was the price. It was twice as expensive as comparable restaurants but wasn't any better. We had italian nachos and chicken ceasar salad and the bill was over 50.00. I would suggest going to Olive Garden and save your money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyAndersAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and excellent food.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The service was great, the food was excellent. And what made it more special is that we had a couon from Cappetos which is now closed, and Carino's was nice enough to take our coupon. Absolutly recommend this restaurant for the excellent food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dinner for two”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I had never been there prior, but when we left I told him we MUST come back some time. Food was good, service was great, and the 1 drink I had was enough! It was a good evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Specializedbkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpaso
Level Contributor
217 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“So- So Food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is not bad, it just is not that good. Not up to par with the Olive Garden. Just average pasta and Lasagna. The bread was good. The waitress was great, and the place is nice inside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING ON SEVERAL LEVELS”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

There are two Carino's in El Paso. This review is for the Carino's on Airway Blvd., and not the Sunland Park Dr. location which I have not been to. The service was horrible. Our waiter, who was also working the bar, left us (party of 8 business men) to go serve alcohol to several of his friends who had arrived. Our party sat for 30 minutes without anyone taking our order. The "Manager" of the location walked by several times, looked directly at our table and we at him, yet nothing happened. Water glasses were left unfilled, empty appetizer plates were all over the table, and drink orders were not taken.

Several employees walked by during this time and just looked at us and kept walking. After someone finally came and took our orders, the food came out in relatively short amount of time. That actually worred me, as I had ordered chicken and I was curious how they had cooked it so fast. Well, I was rewarded with chicken that was not cooked all the way through. Luckily I decided to check the chicken before biting into it, and yes, it was a nice unhealthy bright pink inside. I told the waiter, after he asked me how the food was, that the chicken was not cooked. No apology or visit from the cook, just an "uh huh...".

Considering the size of our table, and the individuals present, Carino's could have landed a huge check and made a lot of money off our table. Lucky for them I was not paying for dinner, as they would have gotten $0. Poor service, bad food, uncaring management. Won't ever return and won't send anyone there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Memtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carino's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carino's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing