We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Model in Hotel Management and Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“A Model in Hotel Management and Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Capital on our wedding night and directed the bulk of our out-of-town wedding guests to stay at the Capital as well, many of them coming from large cities. Everyone who stayed there had a wonderful experience (their rooms are large and spacious and no detail has been left undone) but what stood out by far was the unsurpassed customer service, flexibility and graciousness of the Hotel Staff. Every single employee did everything in their power to accommodate our guests and us. When my husband's room's air conditioning wasn't working properly, they instantly upgraded him to our Wedding Night Suite (2 nights early) with a handwritten note of apology for the inconvenience and a cigar and cigar kit. This is just one example of the length the staff went to make our stay a great one. They also were very accommodating for our wedding guests after the Rehearsal Dinner and Wedding Reception in serving large numbers of people and catering to hotels guests and visitors regardless of whether they were in the bar, lobby, or upstairs in the spacious covered balcony. The customer service at the Capital Hotel in Little Rock should be a model for all hotels in all cities and I had several friends tell me the same. It made be very proud of my home town and we’re so happy that the majority of our guests were able to stay at the Capital. I would highly recommend it for any occasion and we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nans57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    53
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
82
207
28
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

The hotel was absolutely perfect from the moment I walked in. The hotel has a courtesy car which is also very useful if you wish to see the river market or go out for dinner. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I am a picky and experienced traveler and the Capital Hotel did not dissappoint. If you are traveling to Little Rock stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtyjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Friendly, attentive staff, amazing renovations of this historic, architectural gem. Award winning Chef Lee Richardson's cuisine @ Ashleys and Capital Bar & Grill, superb. Fine linens, soaring ceilings, and drama abound. Perfection!

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sumac333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. From the spacious and well appointed room and bath to the excellent staff throughout the property, the Capital Hotel was an unexpected pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank string180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiterstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel, we stayed there for a night for some "grown-up time" and it was well worth the somewhat steep price. Parking is valet only, and the concierge that showed us to our room was very welcoming. We had a suite and it was gorgeous, pampering does not get any better than that. The antique furniture and beautiful four poster bed were perfect in the historical setting of the hotel, the bathroom was oversized, modern and completely luxurious. We decided on a casual dinner at the bar which we enjoyed, service here was impeccable as with everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast in the restaurant was also very enjoyable, although next time we would rather have breakfast in our breathtaking room I think. A beautiful, historic hotel that meets all expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Capital for our anniversary this past weekend. Everything was very well-appointed and not a detail was overlooked during the renovation. Our room was exceptionally clean and quaint. Loved the black-out curtains, which kept our room dark in the morning. The only negative was that we were on the top floor and the room got hot during the night and we had to adjust the thermostat 3 times before it cooled down. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank try20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

For the business traveler and upscale tourist, the Capital Hotel offers the biggest bang for the buck without sacrificing anything.

A few days before my arrival, I was contacted by the hotel to review any requests I may have. Upon arrival, I was greeted personally and directly escorted to my room; there was no check-in whatsoever.

The rooms are spacious and carefully appointed with elegance and the fine touches to accomodate business and leisure. Attractive furniture, high ceilings, a meticulously clean restroom, easy Internet connection, complimentary bottled water and gourmet snacks all awaited. A pleasant surprise was the late-afternoon turn-down service, when two staff persons not only prepared the room for evening, they returned the entire suite to the pristine condition upon my arrival. It's like receiving room cleaning service twice daily.

The experience is enhanced by the overall facility. A beautiful and historic structure, recently renovated for millions of dollars, the hotel itself is worth a visit even if you are staying elsewhere. From the columns and stained glass ceiling in the lobby, magnificent dual staircase leading to the veranda and lounges overlooking President Clinton Boulevard, the management obviously has excellent taste and a sensitivity to preservation.

There are two restaurants in the hotel. One is an authentic pub with a revolving wooden door opening to the Boulevard and a warm, inviting bar area. Conversation with visitors from around the world spontaneously occured. The fine dining restaurant, priced accordingly, served stunningly presented dishes from the appetizer to dessert, with some additions from the chef, gratis. Each restaurant's wait staff were very personal and attentive.

On my previous trips to Little Rock, I've stayed with the business-traveler chains and at the Peabody, across the street. They are all fine but dreadfully normal. To really take care of yourself as you are away from home, why not spend a modest amount more per night and enjoy an upgrade to first class?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#2 of 61 in Little Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#12 of 61 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#19 of 61 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing