We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their motto is "spoil the women"”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Their motto is "spoil the women"”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a classy historical hotel, but everything in the room was updated. We stayed in room 440, which is a suite. The suite was large and luxurious. The ceilings are high and there were some antiques in the room. The towels and soaps were fabulous in the huge bathroom. The tub was extra long and the shower had an excessive water supply. The bed was very comfortable.
There were unexpected treats, which may have been due to our anniversary - champagne, fruit and toffee.
The staff was very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin1955_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    58
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
230
32
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I got married on Dec. 13 and spent our wedding night at this glorious, luxurious hotel. The hotel was absolutely beautiful decorated for Christmas. When we arrived the attendant was very gracious and accommodating and helped secure our luggage into our room. The room was spacious, tall ceiling and a beautiful wood, four poster bed with a nice sitting area. One of my favorite features was the sconces on the walls which could be dimmed. The bed and linens were luxurious as was the warm, large shower. We enjoyed the comfortable, complimentary slippers and their bath robes as well. We hope to go back one day to celebrate an anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The concierge staff and restaurant sparkle! I stayed three nights on a business trip. The room itself was lovely although the shower was a tad funky ( disabled chair and plastic curtain). The room is spacious, with a comfy chintz armchair and the most comfortable bed. The elevator is rumored to be so big because Ulysses S. Grant wanted to bring his horse with him to his room! Whether that's true, that elevator is big enough to fit a bed!!!

I used J.B. and others to drive me in the Hotel's black Escalade to The Clinton Museum, the Heights, Hilcrest, and the Rock Town Distill. J.B.'s southern charm and graciousness made each little trip a pleasure. All of the concierge staff were delightful!!!! So professional and extraordinary.
When I told the bartender in their restaurant how much I loved the Southern pecans, he got me a humongous 1 lb. bag to bring back to California. And those fried black eyed peas!!! Heaven!!!

The best part of my brief visit to Little Rock was this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraBogaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

One word: Charming!!!!!
Visited with husband and 1 yr old. We were in a beautiful suite where they placed a kids wagon full of toys in the bedroom for our son. Can't get any better than that with personal touches! They even left monster spray with directions On how to use it! How cute!
Candies and milk in glass bottles awaited us in the evening.
Room service was quick.
Restaurants were superb, service and food!
Hotel staff was Courteous and attentive.
This hotel definitely knows how to run their show and boy it is a fantastic production!
We hope to return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My recent four night stay was extraordinary. From my spacious room with its deep soaking tub. To the toffee candy I looked forward to every night. The chefs daily blue plate special which draws a crowd and the comfy veranda with outdoor fans which gave me place to curl up with a book. Go get pampered and enjoy the daily complimentary tea and lemonade.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This has to be the most elegant, stately, and yet welcoming hotel in the world. The staff was both warm and gracious. The decor was spectacular. It was like staying in a museum, yet perfectly comfortable, with amazingly soft sheets. The gumbo was delicious. It was like stepping back into a fantasy view of another, more gracious time. I can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I purchased a weekend package for my husband's birthday weekend. The hotel is a great location to walk to all restaurants and bars downtown. The regular rooms are a little small but elegant. The Capital bar has a very nice happy hour and the drinks are premium. The breakfast was by far the best i have ever had. the bacon is the best thing that i have ever tasted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#3 of 63 in Little Rock
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 63 in Little Rock
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 63 in Little Rock
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing