We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend at the Capital”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent our 21st anniversary at the Capital Hotel. It was our first visit in exactly 21 years. We waited way to long to come back. We pulled up to park and the Bellman quickly greeted us and asked our names. A Representative immediately came out and led us to our room where we checked in inside the comfort of our room. The hotel is historic and beautiful, the service was exemplary, the room was great. We will not wait another 21 years to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 694 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I fully understand all the raving reviews about this historic hotel. It is indeed full of southern charm and the staff very friendly and eager to please. However, we did have some issues that we feel that cannot go unnoticed.

We booked a virtuoso rate through our travel agent and had breakfast included in our rate. Our waiter however, would not let us order from the main menu. No the petit dejuner (some sort of continental breakfast) nor any other dish. Instead we were only able to pick some of the sides, like bread, juice, coffee and pastries. We did not challenge this, as the waited had checked it, but we are pretty sure this is not in line with the virtuoso luxury program.

In addition, our room was somewhat noisy, as it was a gap between the door and the floor. Noises from the hallway plus the slamming of neighboring doors (no soft lock mechanisms here) were very noticeable. Plumbing in the (rather small) bathroom seemed to be old, as we could easily hear water being used in the room next door. At night we were awoken four times by the passing trains, even though the hotel is not that close to the railway.

Lastly: We were offered NYtimes delivered at our door in the morning, and happily accepted. But no NYtimes was delivered the next morning.

All in all, a beautiful hotel to visit, but our concerns (which may not be that important to other guests) made this only an average experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night this month and from the moment we dropped off the car it just kept getting better and better. The hotel staff was professional and courteous, the room was clean, quite and had a very, very comfortable bed.
We had drinks in the afternoon at the Bar and Grill and then had a wonderful dinner there later. The atmosphere is relaxing and the rib eye is excellent with a glass of Eberle cab. Just a note, Ashley's is closed on Sundays.
We ordered a modest room service breakfast in our room and it was very good. It was hard to leave, but we will stay at the Capital the next time we are in town. Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rp-yp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In every way, The Capital Hotel is simply elegant and excellent. You may find yourself measuring every other hotel by its high standards. From the beautiful lobby to the huge elevator to the spacious and beautiful room, every aspect of the hotel is exceptional. The hospitality extended by hotel employees exemplifies genuine Southern hospitality. The meals are excellent. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I missed my flight and checked in to this hotel a day later. At the time I checked in, they were not going to charge for the day I missed. When I checked out after two hours of sweating in the room due to the lousy A/C, they charged me for two days. Before I checked out, I asked for a different room that is away from the sun! They refused...It was a $600 reservation, but they didn't bother to give me a different room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ddutch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The preservation of this historic hotel was incredible. I have never stayed in such a beautiful room. The beautiful room and courteous staff made my stay feel like a dream. The staff was very helpful and even printed out maps and suggested quality restaurants. I plan on staying at this hotel every time I come to Little Rock.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everyone else has already said it -- restored an old hotel to an elegant condition, with both fixtures and service to match, but you do pay for what you get. (Reacting to another review, we booked the room/parking/breakfast package, and our room was NOT tiny.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JiLy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#2 of 64 in Little Rock
931 reviews
0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 64 in Little Rock
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 64 in Little Rock
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range: $224 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing