We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely love this hometown favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this hometown favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times for business and this hotel is really special. The staff, especially Billy Glasscock, run a top notch hotel that could be in any major city. The rooms are gorgeous. It is historic yet updated and you feel like you have really gone somewhere special when you stay here. Love sitting on the balcony on the second floor of the hotel and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    56
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
92
223
32
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our stay at the Capital Hotel was simply incredible. All of the very positive reviews attest to how really wonderful this hotel is -- every detail adds up to a hotel that has very few peers. You must dine at Ashley's when you are here, or even if you stay elsewhere, Ashley's is fine dining in capital letters!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We used to live in Little Rock, and whenever returning for a visit we always stay at The Capital Hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are on the small side, but that's what you get with a restored building. The facilities are clean and the service attentive. Ashley's is a fine place to dine as well. Southern hospitality is on display here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WahooFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white hall
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

For any activities in downtown this is a great place to stay. It is beautifully restored and has service that is impeccable. The restaurant is fabulous, especailly Sunday brunch There is valet parking only that is worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACKETT
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We won a trip to the Capital (otherwise we would not have been able to afford it), but it was the best experience! The staff was super accommodating, helpful, and courteous. The amenities were the nicest I have ever seen. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathtub felt like a swimming pool, and the entire room was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittneydeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Capital Hotel while in town for business meetings.

We have stayed at some very nice resorts like Rosewood's Little Dix Bay and I have to say the service was top notch at Capital Hotel for sure! We are very picky being that both of us have worked for Disney so excellent customer service is in our blood! :)

From the moment we exited the cab we were welcomed and taken care of till the moment Mike dropped us back at the airport. We can't say enough about our stay at the Capital Hotel. All the little touches from water bottles and coffee in the lobby to an umbrella being held over my head every time I was coming and going to all the staff always knowing who we were and addressing us as Mr. and Mrs. Lewis, to the complimentary transportation to the complimentary Toffee and water in the room to the convenient laundry baskets outside the door and most importantly to the ever accommodating staff. JP was very helpful and took us to the Sushi Cafe which was delicious! Our waiter in Ashleys, who I apologize for not remembering his name, was just a delite and his consistent enthusiasm and approach showed how much he loves what he does.

Our room was upgraded upon request and check in was a breeze. Being walked up to the room to check in was new to me and very smooth and quick!

The room was spacious and clean and our meals in the hotel were all delicious!

I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Little Rock!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chichanella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel, gracious staff, excellent location and gorgeous rooms with comfortable beds....the only thing u need to watch out for is the unexpected tip added on at the end...my friend and I were handing out cash tips and discovered we were charged additionally at checkout. Loved the complimentary spiced pecans in the room and the fantastic veggie omelettes. Be sure to ask for extended checkout

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoesArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#4 of 63 in Little Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.1 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#12 of 63 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 63 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing