We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The only place to stay in Little Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Little Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service is awesome, the hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are just beautiful and the beds are so comfy. I love the historic aspect of the hotel. Ashley's is amazing!!! My only complaint is that they don't offer in room movies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorbackmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    53
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
80
204
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I planned our first visit to Little Rock to run the Little Rock Half Marathon. We booked our room at The Capital primarily because of its location - just blocks from the start and finish lines. However, we discovered there were so many more reasons to stay at The Capital. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this over 100 year old hotel exudes a European elegance. We were greeted with tremendous hospitality throughout our entire stay. The concierge staff went above and beyond to attend to any of our needs. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport. When a taxi was not to be found, their driver again assisted us and drove us to our planned destination (Central HS). The friendly staff at the door were always ready to greet us with a smile. Our mouths dropped when we saw our gorgeous and ultra-spacious room (Room 446). The hotel has plenty of complimentary water and newspapers (Little Rock Gazette, WSJ, and NYT). In the evenings, we were offered water and southern pecan toffee as a special treat. Special to marathon weekend, the hotel had a complimentary bar of fruit, water, and gels, and an early morning breakfast menu for room service. They had an after marathon lunch menu for room service and complimentary massages in the lobby. Needless to say, our stay at The Capital was an unexpected treat and a highlight among many highlights of our trip. I would run another 13.1 miles just for the opportunity to stay at The Capital again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
291 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

In a trip across the country, my husband I I stayed at The Capital Hotel. It was WONDERFUL!!!! The staff are amazing, the rooms are gorgeous, the whole experience was exceptional. If I am ever in Little Rock again I will stay nowhere else! I LOVE the elevator, it is, I think, the largest elevator in the country. We ate at the Capital Bar and Grille, great food, great drinks, great bartender. Very creative, very comfortable. Really, the experience could not have been better (except for the fact that we had to leave!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When my air conditioning broke during 100 degree weather, I took a mini vacation at The Capital Hotel. My room was large, so I never felt cramped. The large soaking tub was a dream. The beds were comfortable, linens excellent, and room service superb. I also liked having a newspaper automatically arrive at my door each morning along with a basket of clean towels. Even when I'm not staying there, I enjoy the Capital Bar & Grill with its fried black eyed peas, pimento cheese, and lovely wedge salad. If you're looking for a beautiful historic structure filled with state-of-the-art amenities, you can't beat The Capital Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There are many reviews that reflect the fabulous quality of this hotel. i cannot think of why anyone would want to go anywhere else should their travels take them to Little Rock. They offer an on demand limousine service ... we didn't rent a car and didn't need one. The hotel was the quietest we've stayed in in years. The service was hospitable and gracious without being overbearing. If you stay anywhere else, you're making a mistake.

BTW, got a great deal on I Prefer.

Room Tip: Front of hotel larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldRoamer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I loved everything about our stay in this splendid hotel and will recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Little Rock! The restoration makes it easy to imagine guests from another era wandering through! The staff were always helpful, personable and readily available to assist. We especially appreciated the ability to access the fitness center at the Peabody Hotel across the street when the Downtown Fitness Center was closed on Sunday.

It would be easy not to leave the building due to it's comfortable guest rooms and public areas as well as the options for low key or high end food and beverage! Ashley's lives up to its reputation as the best restaurant in Little Rock for good reason!!

The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions and the trolley runs right down Markham Street out the front door!

The hospitality made our first trip to Little Rock truly special at an affordable rate not seen in hotels of this quality or style in most cities! We hope to come back some day when the weather is warmer so we can take advantage of the second floor terrace overlooking Markham Street.

Room Tip: We reserved a Superior Queen room which was just right for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diannejewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, new jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 days here once again on business. The hotel continues to outshine all others in Little Rock
Immaculate large Rooms and bathrooms
Lovely amenities and added touches
Great Food and Drinks
This is the first visit where I had to check in at the desk. Normally I am taken up to the room and credit card is taken there
I missed that
Also did not receive my added amenity as an IPrefer member
Still this hotel continues to be the star in
Little Rock

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#2 of 62 in Little Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#11 of 62 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#19 of 62 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing