We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor friends for recommending this awesome, unique hotel! We are on a cross country road trip and have adopted the "not roughing-it" philosophy toward our hotel stops. The Capital Hotel was a surprisingly beautiful gem in the middle of downtown Little Rock. Beautifully maintained historic building with 15' tall ceilings, all wonderful modern amenities, delicious restaurant in the lobby. Will definitely recommend this stop to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    53
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
82
211
28
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

The Capital is everything a boutique hotel should be - from the swarm of friendly valets at check-in, to the fresh lemonade in the lobby, to the grand sweeping staircase and giant plush elevator, to the well-appointed room, they have not missed (almost) a single beat. I stayed two nights in this lovely establishment and give many kudos to the management and staff for making it such a pleasant stay.

In my room at turn-down the first night, I discovered toffee on my pillow ("crack," as a fellow guest stated), fluffed pillows, and a welcome letter from the manager. My room even had a live plant nestled by the window! The room and bathroom were luxurious yet still cozy and comfortable.

The ONLY drawback: no in-room coffee. Yes, I am sure that the coffee in the lobby is better than any quick-brew system they'd install in the rooms, but I am *not* a morning person and was exhausted from traveling for work...having to get up, get dressed, brush my hair and yes - talk to people - before my first bit of caffeine was less-than-ideal. I did order room service the first morning but it was over 20 minutes later than my scheduled delivery time, nearly causing me to be late to my meeting and certainly not allowing for a leisurely cup of joe as I got ready...

Back to the lovely: there are oversized bath towels to wrap up in after a great long shower with amazing bath products. The hairdryer was not some dinky travel version (thank you for that, Capital!). The oversized windows and high ceilings made my smallish room seem soooo expansive. I could've stayed forever (but I would have purchased a Keurig for my room *wink*).

The Capital Grill is the ideal post-workday spot to unwind. The food was superb (any chance they'd share the pimento cheese recipe???) and the bartender made a great Manhattan. JoJo is solid gold - hang on to her! We tried several things from the menu and everything was delicious.

If you're in a Little Rock and can afford it, be sure to pick the Capital: you won't regret it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank campbellkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We recently drove through Little Rock on our way to Texas. We stayed at the Capital both going and coming home. The hotel has wonderful employees who are very well trained in the art of hospitality! The hotel's bar and grill was our favorite place. It has wonderful food (especially the pimento cheese and soda crackers) and an excellent selection of drinks. The hotel is quite beautiful and the rooms very peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel has an upgrade system. I'm not sure what it is called. My husband asked about it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stay at the Capital 4-5 times per year and always have consistently excellent service and accommodations. The guestrooms and public areas are spotlessly clean, the staff has a "can do" attitude regarding guest requests. Ashley's has terrific food and CBG offers a great cocktail, wine selection and pub fare.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel, attentive staff base in a great area of town. Easy walk to restaurants and attractions. Plush and comfortable beds and great toffee at turndown.

Room Tip: I was able to get a little bigger room by renting the ADA with King size bed at the same price as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful historic hotel that has been well maintained over the years. The hotel has a grand feel to it, with the splendid stairway that leads into the lobby to the huge elevator that could carry horses (according to the bellhop). The rooms are spacious and quiet as well. Probably the only issue with the room that I had was that it looked out into a parking lot.

The service at the hotel was good. Almost every request was handled very well, with the only exception of early morning room service which was always 10-20 minutes late for some reason.

The food at this hotel was also very very good. It was not standard hotel food and almost every meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner), I wanted to eat at the hotel. That was how good the food was. If you like breakfast sausages, try the homemade ones that the hotel makes in the morning. Delicious!

This hotel is well worth it and is a gem for the downtown Little Rock area.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is huge, some rooms feel like they are half a mile away from the elevator banks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed here in late January on business and it was worth every cent. The service is unbeatable. Helpful staff members like Clem and Jerry went above and beyond to acommodate my requests. The Innkeeper, Michael, was very friendly and professional as well.

The overall charm and elegance of the hotel is one-of-a-kind. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was more comfortable than that of any hotel I have ever stayed at.

I will be back in Little Rock again, if for no other reason than the Capital Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyTizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#2 of 61 in Little Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#11 of 61 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#17 of 61 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing