We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family activity”

Museum Of Discovery
Ranked #9 of 91 things to do in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
284 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great for family activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The museum recently underwent a renovation that provided much more activities for younger children. It is still geared toward older kids 8 & up I would say but does have things for 4-8 y/o age group and now does have a play area for the young kids 3 and under that can at least occupy them while the older kids actually enjoy the exhibits. Overall, worth a trip if you are visiting LR. If you have younger kids I would also recommend The Wonder Place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VMAC0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    73
    18
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I absolutely loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went together and it was amazing. It is aimed toward kids (we are in college) but being a science major, I love hands on activities. If you do not have kids I would suggest to go at a time when kids are busy because I went Saturday afternoon and it was jam-packed with children. I want to go again soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Larkin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect rainy day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

It was storming and chilly so my boys (16, 13 and 10) decided to check out the Discovery Museum with some other family members. I fully expected the 10 year old to love it, the 13 year old to tolerate it and the 16 year old to hate it. Although some parts are geared toward younger children - we all had a great time! There is such a variety of topics and activities. The tornado simulation was cool, but kids under 5 were scared and started screaming. There were hands on creative and physical challenges in each area which were a lot of fun - some areas were gross (being fake sneezed on and smelling gas), but the boys enjoyed it. I would highly recommend spending a few hours here if you are in the area!

Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadAgain-5ofUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great museum that offers many hands-on activities for kids of all ages. There is an area upstairs just for kids 5 and younger. Down stairs there is a tinkering studio where kids get to take apart and build lots of fun crafts and there are lots of cool animals to check out.
Overall it's a great museum in the heart of downtown Little Rock, with lots of places nearby that you can wlak to for lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A really fun museum so much to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a great museum where everything is interactive. There is something fun for all ages. Sadly a few exhibits were damaged however most of them were working. The museum is in a great location in the downtown River Market area and is good value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Exigeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Of Discovery also viewed

 

Been to Museum Of Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing