We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good location but poorly managed”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business. When I booked the room I was told that breakfast was included. When I got there I was told breakfast was extra. The hotel also decided to have a fire drill at ten am in the morning. On the second morning housekeeping ignored the do not disturb sign and entered our room at 9:30 in the morning. It was terrifying experience. All management offered when we complained was free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mister H,

I want to first apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying here at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Little Rock. Our goal is never to disturb your rest or comfort, but to enhance tyour experience and provide you with a most hospitable stay. I regret that you didn't speak to me before you left as I would have appreciated your feedback immediately. Unfortunately someone gave you inaccurate information concerning breakfast when making your reservation with central reservations and I am regretful that happened. As for the fire alarm, I definitely understand your frustration. I was notified of the fire inspection prior and was guaranteed there would be no alarms until after noon. As we both know that isn't what occurred and I am so sorry we disturbed your rest. I also want to thank you for calling the issue with housekeeping to my attention. Often times I am not notified of such things and cannot address the issue. Rest assured I have addressed this with our housekeeping department to prevent this in the future.

Again, on behalf of myself and our entire staff, please accept my apologies for negatively affecting your stay with us. I cannot erase what has happened but can guarantee you better service in the future. If you are ever in our area again, please do not hesitate to contact me for arrangements. I would welcome the opportunity to attempt to correct the deficiencies you experienced. If I can be of assistance in any way I will certainly do my very best.

Kindly,
Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    108
    38
    16
    7
See reviews for
76
77
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is in the River Market, making it a great location for the marathon, concerts or events. Validation is available for the parking deck. The bed was facing the window, which I was unsure I would like at first, but it grew on me. The view was of President Clinton Blvd, which was cool. There was a nice variety at breakfast and the bar looked fully stocked. There is also a little snack bar where items can be purchased. The issues were that the bathroom was not the cleanest. There was hair on the floor, toilet and in the shower. Also, the coffee urns were not full all morning in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunalynn250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments and compliments. I assure you I have addressed the negative issues you experienced in our hotel as well as celebrated the positive aspects. The biggest compliment we can receive is for our guests to return. I certainly hope you will return to visit again if in the area and allow us to serve you in true southern style! Kindly, Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel has clean rooms, professional staff and very beautiful artfully decorated lobby. Large TV and comfortable bed made my business visit to the Little Rock a successful one. The multilevel parking is in the backside of the hotel as one can expect in downtown areas of the larger towns. It is far better than parking the car blocks away as I have done in many other downtown hotels. Will stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your kind comments and compliments! The next time you are in the area, please take a moment to stop by so I can thank you in person for being such a wonderful guest!

Kindly,
Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed twice in a two week period, each for three nights. The hotel and rooms were very clean each time. My only "problem" is parking, it is not cheap but it being downtown and very limited street parking, I do not expect much can be done about this. Many of very good restaurants in area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Little Rock! We are honored you stayed with us on two occasions and certainly welcome you back anytime you are in town. Our goal is to provide you with service so accommodating and hospitable that you look forward to returning in the future. Thank you kindly! Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always stay at Marriotts, and this one lived up to Marriott reputation. Location is perfect for River Market and the Clinton Library. Only downside is the parking garage but it is right behind the hotel, and you don't need your car once you check in. Everything, restaurants, sites, and river are right on this street. Staff greeted us warmly and helped with any questions. Lobby has bar and seating area for meeting up with friends that were joining us. Room was very nice and quiet except for one night when kids were making noise out in the hallway which was easily fixed with an opening of our door and parental stare. We stayed two nites, dined next door and across the street, sat and walked along the river, saw the library and other museums. Also walked down to the Peabody and saw the ducks parade into the fountain in the lobby. The price was very reasonable about $109 a nite and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Clinton Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for such a rave review of not only our hotel, but of downtown Little Rock. We enjoy meeting and greeting guests and having the opportunity to share our incredible city with others. I could not be happier that your experience here was stellar and hope you will return again as our guest. On behalf of the Courtyard by Marriott in beautiful downtown Little Rock, thank you for visiting. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again! Kindly, Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that the people that work here (front desk) made it very clear that this was not really a Courtyard/Marriott to the lady checking in front of me. She was upset because he told her that the only parking they offer was in the public garage around the block. They have no one at the door telling you anything about parking, no valet (ever), no bellhop (ever) the same front desk guy told me the people that owned the hotel were to cheap to hire a valet staff or bellhop. Keep in mind there is basically no where to park to unload bags as it is downtown so you are really parking in the street. Now before you say anything we are talking about Little Rock, AR not some thriving metropolis that people fly in and out of everyday. I only saw one cab the entire 3 days we were there. The parking is not convenient at all but it is free as long as you have the white card that the machine spits out and the yellow card that the front desk gives you. If you fail this "test of skills" it cost you $9 to get out. According to parking attendant (evidently the parking business is tons better than the hotel business as it was dutifully staffed 24/7) "most hotel guest fail the first time but have the routine down by the last day." If you wanted a omelet at breakfast you had to get the waitstaff (1) to go in the kitchen to get the omelet chef. The food was pretty good and I had no complaints about the quality or selection at the buffet. We ordered room service (not kid friendly) and after the order was placed she asked "will that be cash or credit"???? Room service is off site and you have to either give them your CC over the phone or starve because if you say cash they just make you give a CC to confirm the order. Water in the shower goes from cold to warm to hot at anytime and not always in that order. All in all I would rate this place on a scale of 1 to 5 a 1.5 or maybe a weak 2 because the balcony was a great addition to the room. This BTW is one of the most expensive hotels in Downtown Little Rock. Be very carful if you prepay your room. I will not stay here again. Anytime a hotel uses its great location and good name to bring people in but does nothing beyond that to keep your business is not worth a 2nd shot from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cord W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Please accept my apologies for such a dissatisfactory stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Little Rock. I have attempted to contact you a couple of times to discuss the details of your stay but haven't been successful in reaching you. I assure you this is not taken lightly and appreciate your comments to further train employees and provide better service to our guests. I welcome the opportunity to attempt to correct the negative experience we provided to you. If I may be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience. I wish you only pleasant stays with Marriott in the future.

Kindly,
Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was in LR for several days, helping my daughter plan her upcoming wedding. (May 4) I love the location of the property. The wedding reception is at Heifer. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. As noted in other reviews, the rooms are a bit tired and outdated, which really isn't a concern to me. However, my room needed a good clean. I cleaned around the toilet as it was gross. There were cobwebs above the curtains and light switches/doors/walls were grubby. We've blocked several rooms for the wedding and I hope our guests have nice, clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your wedding planning weekend! We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to serving your family and friends that travel to Little Rock for your daughter's wedding. We are very sorry for the cleanliness issues you found in your bathroom, above the curtains, and on the walls. We are working closely with the housekeeping team to correct their form so details like this do not go unnoticed.
We thank you for the opportunity to serve you for your current and future guest room needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 63 in Little Rock
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 63 in Little Rock
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#1 of 63 in Little Rock
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Little Rock Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Little Rock Downtown

Property: Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Address: 521 President Clinton Ave, Little Rock, AR 72201-1787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Little Rock
#15 Business Hotel in Little Rock
#20 Family Hotel in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Little Rock Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Little Rock Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Little Rock Downtown Hotel Little Rock
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing