We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a Disappointment”
Review of Ashley's At the Capital - CLOSED

Ashley's At the Capital
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having dined here many times we are always amazed at how delicious and different the dishes are. We have been here for family events as well as business dinners and breakfast outings.
If you are not a Southerner, one might think the servers casual however we love it and always think it adds to the homey yet classy atmosphere and their friendliness as well as expertise about the menu makes the meal just that much more delightful. We like to hear their favorites and why some people prefer one dish over another, plus their suggestions on drinks is helpful.
Overall a great choice for a delightfully delicious meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hope_star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    30
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining with Tradition”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went here for lunch and was very impressed. It was refreshing to see business people gathering in a fine environment and dressed up. Men in suite and tie; women finely dressed. Not something I get to experience a whole lot in St. Louis.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatShasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a grand room”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Slow hosting
Wait staff inconsistent great at breakfast but waitress and server a bit casual
Food was great breakfast and dinner
Like ala carte breakfast No buffet!
Dinner was very good with a slight Asian twists to American classics. Good wine list

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDiscerningHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There is a reason it's #1!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food and service!! Our waiters were friendly and attentive. We had a great time! Pricey but great for a special event. Best steak we have ever eaten!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milly491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb food excellent service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I see why this restaurant is rated # 1 I Little Rock. The menu is diverse, the food elegantly prepared and the wait staff friendly and excellent. What else do you need?

Excellent diverse wine list.

I was there early-530 pm in late July. Very hot night so, I was the only customer for 45 minutes. Some nights it's crowded. If you make reservations ask how many reservations for that night. If crowded, the experience may not be as good mine.
I am from California, but grew up in the south. The appetizer, Gulf Shrimp on Grits was as good as ever. Never had it so delicious.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calsun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashley's At the Capital also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing