We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ”
Review of Shorty Small's

Shorty Small's
Ranked #117 of 787 Restaurants in Little Rock
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Shorty Small's is located in West Little Rock at the corner of Rodney Parham and Shackleford/Arkansas Valley Drive. We have been a local favorite since 1980. Locally owned and managed for over 25 years!
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Amazing ribs... Husband says they are the best he ever had. Service is fast and friendly. Great atmosphere... Servings are plentiful...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gophertrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Walked out satisfied”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This location has a very old look to it. It's very unique and different. The food that you get is HUGE! So that makes it well worth the money. The prices are a little bit high. I had the Queso & Salsa and it was very good! I also had the Bbq brisket with baked beans. I was craving for BBQ, so we ate there and it was good. I definitely recommend this location!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krys90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good service no matter how busy they are”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here on several occasions and have always had good experiences with the wait staff. They have a decent onion loaf which is akin to an onion blossom. The lobster ravioli is good, as are the hamburgers and bbq sandwiches. I've never had a bad meal, but I've never had a knock your socks off meal from here either

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinarenee71635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Blah......”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Little Rock several years ago & loved this place. I think the quality of the food has gone downhill. The ribs were very small. There was a thick layer of charred meat on the outside & only a few bites of good meat near the bone, with no sauce detected on the meat or on the side. The beans had no real flavor & the portion was small. The french fries were blah. The cheddar biscuit was delicious, light, fluffy, & piping hot. I asked if I could substitute a small salad for the slaw & was told sure. The salad was nice-sized and fresh. However, when I got the bill, I had been charged $2.99 for the salad!! Wish they had told me that upfront, as I don't consider that a substitution!!

The waitstaff were friendly. They seated me & took my order quickly, but a 10 min wait for a draft beer is a bit too long, especially for a party of one.

Overall, it was a huge disappointment & too pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floresville, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Family had fun!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ate at Shorty Smalls while staying overnight on a family trip. Only bad thing - we were seated at a clearly dirty table. The waiter had to be asked to wipe it down. Otherwise, the waiter was great, the menu is fun and our food was really good. We all had something different - from salad to bbq to chicken fried steak. All good quality food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty Small's also viewed

 

Been to Shorty Small's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing