We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just Your Usual Burger Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Orange

Big Orange
Ranked #13 of 776 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Big Orange is located in The Promenade at Chenal. This unique shopping center offers some of Little Rock's best retail, movie-going, and dining experiences. Big Orange is located at the West end of the center, near the Chenal 9 IMAX Theater and across from the Apple Store.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not Just Your Usual Burger Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We ordered the soup special which was gumbo, not really knowing what to expect. OMG, it is the best gumbo outside Louisiana. What a nice surprise. The burgers were also very good. Very fresh ingredients. A little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50StateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    101
    54
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food. Average service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

You can see if you read down that people have some complaints about the service at this place. I've been here once and the service was average for a burger joint. The placement of the restaurant in upscale Promenade makes one think that the service should be better. But it's just... average. Average service won't keep me away. I'm not a huge burger fan, but I did like the selection at Big Orange... being able to choose a beef burger, turkey burger or veggie burger in any of the different "styles" on the menu. We had between us the Hickory Smoke, Farmer Burger and Classic. Everyone was exceptionally happy with the food. The cheese dip and chips were good, and one must try the truffle-garlic-herb fries. It's a casual place... go expecting casual service and you'll be happy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Burgers - Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to Big Orange when I visited Little Rock, based on the reviews here and in Yelp. The place looked modern and had a nice bar. Even though the place was empty, the hostess initially wanted to sit me in the bar. I asked for a proper table. After reviewing the menu - I opted for the truffle burger and fries. The burger was disappointing and pretty bland. The meat seemed steamed, rather than grilled and the addition of the truffle didn't enhance the flavor enough.
Compared to other burger places around the US, I would rate it as "interesting but average". Seems like little rock could use a little less pretentious and better tasting burger.
Finally - Service was pretty sparse, the wait staff was focused more on socializing than on service - so no distinction here either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighTechTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very good hamburger. Was there on Friday night and had to wait for one hour on table but with there texting alert, we were free to browse other stores. Loved the food but was very crowded and loud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lwhite_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Hamburger place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Despite the hype, I found Big Orange average. The sweet potato waffle fries were good but everything else we tried was average. No atmosphere. The burger was okay and the salad was average.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Orange also viewed

 

Been to Big Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing