We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School”

Capital Bar and Grill
Ranked #21 of 780 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old School”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You'll love this place unless you're looking for sleek, modern and young. Great service with accomplished bartenders and servers. The menu is first class, which fits the overall quality of this hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    82
    23
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Capital Bar and Grill is on the small side and the tables are close together, but it is charming and cozy. We had great soups - gumbo and and a terrific, fresh gazpacho. I had the rice fried catfish, which was light and delicious.The service was very good, although it was very busy. Prices were reasonable and the Malbec was nice. Will return again, hopefully for live music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZenDogAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding service makes the Capital Bar & Grill the finest bar in Little Rock”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The preeminent spot for after work drinks, a fun date, or to celebrate a special occasion. The atmosphere and service put the Capital Bar above its peers in this market as well as others. In particular, bartender Spencer always develops unique and enjoyable cocktails to try, along with the tried and true favorites. He always goes out of his way to be engaging and make conversation at the bar no matter how busy, a telltale sign of a great bartender. While the menu itself could use some more variety season to season, Spencer and the rest of the staff keep me coming back time and again. Keep up the great work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCN1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food and wine were OK, but for the price I would expect better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Both dinner and lunch menus at the Capital Bar and Grill offer a variety of selections, with Blue Plate lunch specials. We had three meals there recently and were not disappointed. Gumbo (which my husband had every meal) and burgers were outstanding, and their green beans were delicious, well seasoned with ham. Cuban sandwich was excellent. A busy lunch and bar scene, fairly crowded though we were always able to get a table, not for those seeking a quiet place. Staff hustles and is very attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed lunch, supper and listening to easy jazz music on Saturday night. Decor is dark, warm and inviting and seems to attract a wide variety of clientele, couples (both older and dating), businessmen, and some families.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing