We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Root Cafe

The Root Cafe
Ranked #3 of 776 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great place, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went there for lunch on Saturday.

Food is good, albeit a little pricey. Worth it due to wonderful/ accomodative staff, as well as fresh, local foods.

WOuld definitely rec'd to others!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tariq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    81
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leaves
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great ethics, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

In a city full of greasy junk food and national chains, The Root Cafe is a wonderful breath of fresh air. Its focus is on locally grown, organic foods, and there's a good variety of vegetarian and vegan options. The food is tasty and full of flavor, and definitely worth a visit. The location is easy to find and has plenty of parking. It's located in a converted house, so has a relaxed, easy-going feel. Unfortunately the staff are also relaxed and easy-going - to such a degree that they seem to forget they're at work. Friendly, but slow. Bring a friend or a book, kick back, and hang around for some unusually good and actually pretty healthy food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuietForestLeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For beef lovers, too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My beef loving husband had the cheese burger and pronounced it Fabulous! I had the bahn mi sandwich with tofu, sweet BBQ sauce, crisp pickled veggies on great bread. The sweet potato fries weren't crispy which we thought they would be, but they tasted good with the dip. The reviewer who didn't see the napkins and drinks had to walk right by them, they are next to the place you order and pay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdatwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the shiitake benny and it was very good, but the portion was really small, and not just by American standards. We also didnt know that we had to get our own silverware and water, which is fine, but the whole experience is a little overwhelming to newcomers. This is mainly because there is so much stuff in a small area, that its hard to scope everything out when you first walk in. I like that they are going the organic and locally sourced food route, but I feel like the restaurant wasn't very welcoming to new visitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“on the gems of the south main street revival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Since I live in the Quapaw Quarter, I love seeing the new growth along South Main. The Root is one of the great new things happening down here.

The food is consistently good. When they first opened, I had issues with them being out of a lot of things but they seem to have fixed that problem. They advertise that they us local food when possible, and this is great for our local economy and for the food.

Everything I have tried here has been great. But my favorite is the spicy bahn mi. I get that almost every time. (And it's vegetarian, if that matters to you.) The curry chicken salad is also great. And I love the sweet potato fries.

It seems just slightly more expensive than comparable lunch spots to grab a burger or sandwich, but the food is good and I support the "local" sourcing so it's worth it.

The atmosphere is...... well, cute. Drinks are served in mason jars. Everyone gets mismatched cloth napkins. The tiny dining area is decorated with a mixture of vintage, recycled, and local art.

There is a living roof (which doesn't seem very successful). And an herb garden out front. The outdoor seating is nice when the weather isn't too hot or too cold.

This is really a great thing happening on South Main. And the food is worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Root Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Root Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing