We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but slightly cramped space.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Root Cafe

The Root Cafe
Ranked #3 of 776 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but slightly cramped space.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Seriously the best sandwich I've ever had in little rock. Also, the sweet potato fries are EXCELLENT. The only downside to this place is that it's really tiny. But the small space is totally worth the great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    81
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Islesboro, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very fresh and good.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is my first visit to this unusual eatery. The food is all fresh, organic and tasty. I had the deviled egg sandwich and sweet potato fries, which comes with a great salad as well. The sandwich and the eggs were a hit, the fries a little to oil logged for my taste, although the seasoning was good. The atmosphere is eclectic but pleasant. Very informal with outdoor eating being the main focus. Don't look for frills, but for a casual place as a great alternative to fast food, this cannot be beat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredibly organic experience!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The service is fantastic and the food was delicious! It was so quaint and a fun little place to experience Little Rock for the first or 100th time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieMcKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely hipster yet great concept and food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I ate here for the first time today at lunch to find an extremely crowded, yet somehow cozy rather than overwhelming place. It's a building that is easy to miss if you're not looking for it. Its popularity has been due mainly to word of mouth although it has recently gained increasing attention through articles in Gun and Garden magazine and others.

I ordered a hamburger that comes with a small side salad. I can honestly say it was the best burger I've ever had. Everything is organic and home grown from the beef to the pickles to the vegetables. In true hipster fashion they served drinks in mason jars, had mismatched towels rather than napkins, mismatched chairs and tables, and offered vegetarian and vegan options. I can't wait to try the rest of the food and maybe go for breakfast next time! I would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Galadriellorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“local fare”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Majority of the ingredients are sourced locally and everything I have ever eaten has been delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Root Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Root Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing