We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, We Have No Wine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SO Restaurant

SO Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
SO Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 771 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Evergreen
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yes, We Have No Wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Three of us had dinner on a Tuesday evening. It was not too crowded, so the ambient noise was just fine. We opened by ordering wine. A bottle of Rombauer chardonnay was out of stock, as was a split of La Crema. Had to settle for something I never heard of and spent $15 for a mediocre glass.

The appetizer of Fried Green Tomato Crabcake was interesting. Tomatoes were a bit thick. Fortunately, there was plenty of excellent lump crab meat. Similarly, the soup special that night, a cream of crab, was quite good, as was the nicely portioned Chopped House salad. Unfortunately, the onion soup had way too much bread and cheese ... although the broth, itself, was quite good, just not enough of it. The Baby House salad is a Caesar variation that contains about twice the dressing and garlic necessary. Definitely avoid this one ... or request that it be toned-back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobandMaryAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service but food has been inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have been to So twice in the last few months; on both occasions I can rave about the attentive and helpful service. However, both times had at least one dish overcooked. First trip it was the duck and the second trip it was the Mahi mahi special. Both times they promptly took away the entree and brought another, but as you know the dinner is shot at that point. The food is very good when cooked correctly.

We will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've had the opportunity to dine at this restaurant several times since moving here recently. The food and the service have been exceptional each time. Very nice atomosphere. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE ROCK
Level Contributor
299 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice place with great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

So's is a neighborhood place with good food, generous portions, and a great bar. The atmosphere is quite nice if you stay out of the front room (toward the street) and the service is good. Meat dishes are great. The "sack" is a wonderful desert, but be sure to share between at least 3 people! Also, this is one of the few good places which is open on Sundays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SrgnFsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Food and great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Food is great! The bone in ribeye is one of the best I have eaten. Their deserts are great try the sack! The sack is a desert of chocolate shaped like a pepper sack with various ice creams in it and it is huge, feeds four. I came here for business with seven of us and the waiter took very good care of us. Everyone was very pleased with their meals and praised the restaurant. Wine list is very good with a full bar.

I highly recommend this restaurant for date night, dinner with friends, or business.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VETJET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SO Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to SO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing