We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service by Susie, Guest Service Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel ONLY lacks in their poor customer service. Do not expect to receive any satisfaction regarding any complaints. Other than that, hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dmote78, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Our staff at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Little Rock strives very hard to make sure we deliver excellent customer service to all of our guests. We do everything we can on a daily basis to make sure our guests are satisfied, within reason of course. We have many polices in place both to protect our guest and to protect the hotel. Unfortunately our cacellation policy is one of those. I am very sorry that we were not able to satisfy you with your recent request to refund your "Guaranteed No Show" charges. Please feel free to contact me directly at the property if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 830 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

Have stayed here over the years and have never been disappointed. I know some folks just look at this as your average Hampton, but let me tell you this is a great location with access to the downtown area. From here it is a short walk to the great River Market. This area has a number of great places to eat and drink. Plus if you don't want to walk to far there are a few local locations and the bar at the Hampton with Shari is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The room was typical Hamton Inn, no more and no less. Things were clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. They have a nice small bar and outside seating area. Convenient to downtown, yet a few blocks away from hustle and bustle.

My complaint has to do with noise. I value my sleep and did not find that this hotel was setup well for this. My first room was facing the interstate, and there was a constant hum from the traffic. I asked to be moved on the opposite side of the hotel from the freeway the next day and was readily accommodated. The problem was that in the back of the hotel is the central bus station for Little Rock where buses go in and out until very late.

I suspose there is a room or two where one can get peace and quiet at this hotel, but as a light sleeper, I will look elsewhere in my future business trips to the city.

It's a shame since the problem could have been prevented by installing better windows from the beginning. The windows are only 1/4" double pane, which does little to lessen the outside noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABQ_Kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton last weekend. We live in the area, but wanted to enjoy downtown for our anniversary and not worry about driving. We used our Hilton points and chose the Hampton over the Double Tree mostly because it was new and it's a little better location for where we were going. It had a very nice court yard in the back with a cool gas fire pit. We sat around it one evening and enjoyed ourselves. They had a nice enough breakfast each morning. The rooms were very spacious. My only complaint was that the hotel is not very well insulated. I heard some of the people complaining at breakfast that a wedding party had stayed up until 3 or 4 am around the firepit and were loud. I would suggest trying to get a higher floor so that you can't hear the people down stairs in the court yard if possible. We also tried to keep the air running in the room to block out the morning noises of slamming doors etc... Overall a nice stay and close to the restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors you hear less noise from courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunnl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Hampton Inns can vary a lot -- this one was excellent. Rooms were very well appointed -- it's great to have plenty of electrical outlets in sensible, convenient locations. The pool/garden are pleasant and the location is fine -- not far from the Clinton Library and an easy 3-block walk to the River Market shops. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Only drawback was the $7 fee to park in the next-door structure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandJudyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a good fairly new property which is well appointed and well located, but they fail to recognize status or special requests (my standard request is high floor, far from elevator... on two successive stays I ended up low floor near elevator).

There's a nice firepit area but unfortunately this also meant a nice place for people to gather and get loud fairly late into the night.

Parking is in a very secure garage... so secure that you can't enter it until you have checked in, which is a little annoying. There is short-term parking out front for checking in, but still.

Room Tip: High floor on front of hotel rather than back to avoid noise from pool/firepit area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Pros:
Easy check-in and friendly desk service.
Secure parking.
Easy walk to and from River Market area.
Firm, comfortable beds.
Very dark, quiet room; we were able to sleep in without disturbance. Noon check-out was nice, too!
Neat little fire pit area, stayed open longer than advertised.
Several other "gathering places" in and around the lobby; everyone seemed comfortable and to be having a good time.
Chain is dedicated to making adaptations to increase accessibility for anyone with physical or medical needs. Even though no one in our family has special needs, I like that.

Cons:
Room was small and not especially clean.
Room had a stale cigarette odor, plus a strong smell of perfumy sprays intended to mask cigarette odors. Though marked non-smoking, it had clearly been a smoking room in the not-so-distant past.
Thermostat had a hard time keeping the room cool overnight, even though it was not a hot night.
VERY limited bar; beer and wine only, and many of those sold out.
Limited breakfast selection - somewhat chaotically arranged, and nothing very fresh - standard budget hotel fare.
WIth the exception of the cheerful front desk staff, other staff members seemed hurried, bored, or even surly.
Lengthy outdoor walk to and from the parking garage - sidewalk meanders through the pool and fire pit areas. Not fun in the rain!

All in all, we may stay there again because of the affordability and location. I wish, however, that they would pay a little more attention to detail. With a little more effort on the part of the staff, an OK stay could be a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroggyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 64 in Little Rock
1,377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
#17 of 64 in Little Rock
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 64 in Little Rock
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown

Address: 320 River Market Ave, Little Rock, AR 72201-1791
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Little Rock
#7 Family Hotel in Little Rock
#12 Business Hotel in Little Rock
Price Range: $113 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown is located in the River Market District and within walking distance to all the dining, shopping, nightlife and the Clinton Presidential Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown Hotel Little Rock
Hampton Inn And Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Hampton Inn Little Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing