We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting...”

Little Rock Central High School
Ranked #1 of 91 things to do in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This National Park Service site encompasses the campus, but Central High is still an active high school. Visitors should park and begin their visit at the National Park Visitor Center, located diagonally across from the campus, at 2120 W. Daisy Gatson Bates Drive. Visitor entrance into the school is via free Ranger-led tours, which need to be reserved in advance to guarantee participation. Interpreting the Civil Rights Movement with an emphasis on school integration, this National Historic Site focuses on the 1957 desegregation crisis that resulted when Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus ordered National Guard troops to prevent the first African American students, "The Little Rock Nine," from entering formerly all white Little Rock Central High School, leading to federal intervention by order of President Dwight Eisenhower.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“interesting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

best part was being there when all the kids got out of school and they were every color and religion and they were all just being, well, kids. Note that you have to plan ahead to actually go in H.S. We just got to go to visitor center.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pdeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    160
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A must see if you are following civil rights history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We are visiting from the UK and are taking a road trip tracing much of the early history of the civil rights movement.

We found the museum and visitor centre both fascinating, and in many ways horrifying, in the way that a significant proportion of a generation only 60 years ago still believed that not all men and women were created equal.

An essential stop in understanding the conditions that drove brave students to exercise their right to desegregated education.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic, Just Imagine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everyone has seen film clips of The Little Rock Nine and Central High. This is a beautiful school that was the sight of human hatefulness. Today's Central High reflects how history can be made on the steps of a high school and impact students generations later. Walk down the street, across the lawn and up the imposing steps and imagine what the 9 went through.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

really educational, a quick visit but worth the time. went with two young kids and the entire family enjoyed the stop

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank crnflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“very moving and scary that it wasn't that long ago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This should be a must on a trip to Little Rock.

Firstly the school building is amazing! It still has a really good academic record according to the Museum Rangers and has a total mix of all races.

The exhibit is both fascinating and awful in that this isn't 100+ years ago, it's in the 1950s. I agree with Canda_98, I wondered about the youngsters who were part of the demonstrations and bullying against these young black students. My only criticism would be that there is little about any support from whites for these young black students, surely there must have been, it can't have been 100% against. At least I certainly hope not. We picked up some children's books for our grandchildren to help them know and try to understand when they are older.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Rock Central High School also viewed

 

Been to Little Rock Central High School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing