We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shaking the Spear in Cedar City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
“Shaking the Spear in Cedar City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you plan to visit the Utah Shakespeare Festival during your summer vacation, you must stay at the Best Western ElRay! It has a fabulous pool, wonderful breakfast, and it is less than 3 blocks to the theatres! We found that we were within walking distance to several restaurants and the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating! Book now, it's the best place to stay when shaking the spear in Cedar City!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karrieann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I am very glad you stayed with us while visiting the Shakespeare Festival. It seems there may be an inside joke in your comments that we need to be in on. Next time you stay with us feel free to fill us in. Thank you for your great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    49
    30
    17
See reviews for
113
136
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed here before and always enjoyed it. Had a dark, quiet room. Not noisy even though near pool and ice machine. Free Wi-Fi, but slow. Problem might have been my Kindle. TV: high quality picture, good selection of channels. Very nice people and the restaurant next door was delicious for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank bkwrm0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We really appreciate your continued business. It means a great deal to us. Thank you, also, for this review. We are grateful for the feedback we receive and will use it to continue striving for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been going to the Shakespeare Festival with our extended family for 30 years. We have stayed in most of the places in Cedar City, but we always come back to the El Rey. It is the most convenient hotel for the festival, and it is in the heart of the charming historic downtown. Lots of places to eat in walking distance as well as nearby shopping. Prices are reasonable and the staff is great. They are doing a lovely remodel and will be even better in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Your continued loyalty to us means so much to us. We love being a place for families to come together. We are also looking to the future and know that we are making some great improvements. We are very excited for other to see them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, ut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stay every year during festival. Good service, remodeled, close to everything including Shakespeare Festival, national parks, and ski areas. Staff friendly and efficient. Reasonable rates even during the season. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for this great review. We as well love the events and surrounding area. From your comments it is evident that you have found a great place to stay when you come to visit. Thank you so much for your loyalty and staying with us each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We made our reservation as a stop at the end of a very long travel day. Upon arrival we noted that the lobby smelled like sewage,and there were two guests complaining that the A/C wasn't working. The location was being remodeled so I tried to remain optimistic. However, we could not find an available parking spot. I spoke with the front desk and she suggested I could park behind the building and then walk around. The only other option was to downgrade to a smaller room. This was a horrible experience and I can't recommend this location at this time. We were able to get a room down the street at the Best Western Town and Country Inn. This was much nicer...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sparhawke2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I would like to sincerely apologize for the conditions during your stay. We strive to have to renovations be as least intrusive as possible. We regret that at the time we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed these items and hope that you will give us another opportunity when you travel back to Cedar City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days as access to Bryce canyon and zion national park. On arrival check in was speedy and efficient. Room was spacious and contained 2 queen beds. The pool was cleaned daily but due to the wind and sighting of trees often had bits floating. This is a great asset when rsturning to accommodation after a long day. First night we had a firework display as it was the start of the utah games. On the saturday there was a Paiute parade and they closed off the main road for this but the hotel put up signs to notify guests. Overall a very good experience includinh checkout. All staff friendly and courteous

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our neighboring National Parks. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We could tell this hotel was well kept when we arrived. The staff was friendly and efficient. I am traveling with a 17 year old son and my husband, We are on a 28 day adventure. I am always looking for how clean the hotel is, my son is after the bed- it was comfortable and the WIFI and my husband is all about the food and how many pillows. This hotel is close to food and everything. It is under renovation but it on one side of the hotel and it did not bother us. It was a very good breakfast and continental did not give it justice. The WIFI was strong according to my son and he was happy. My husband was impressed that the refrigerator had a light in it. This is the only one so far. We will come here again when in Cedar City, it was a cute town. I never used the pool but my room was next to it and it looked very clean

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluLocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is great to hear that we met everyone's needs and wants. We hope you are able to come back and enjoy the pool next time. I have heard many guests say that the temperature is perfect. Thank for these wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#12 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 South Main, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing