We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
North Hills, United States
1 review
“Okay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is outdated and old. However, it was a good price and the room was clean. Perfect for a traveling family on a budget. We did find a sign that said the motel would be remodeling soon. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The motel has a pool but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Jill, you are correct, we are remodeling. We are excited about it also. Thank you for staying with us and offering this review. This winter we are remodeling almost half our rooms. I invite you to come visit again and see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    128
    50
    30
    17
See reviews for
115
137
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a nice place for one night passing through from Las Vegas to the National Parks of Utah. Clean and adequately met our needs. Enjoyed having a refrigerator so we could stock up on a few groceries. Felt safe qalking around the town to dine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Brenda,
I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. At the El Rey, we are always looking for ways to improve and gaining feedback from our guests is very helpful. I am glad you enjoyed the National Parks on you trip. We feel extremely lucky to be located so close to so many beautiful National and State Parks. We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good for a one nighter in Cedar City. Rooms are very spacious. Some rooms have the bathroom in the front which are more quiet than the ones with full glass fronts.
Breakfast better than the average motel i have stayed in. Great service at the front desk.

Room Tip: As above. And in the back of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Jess,
Thank you for your feedback. We are found of our guest that travel from "across the pond" to visit us. Knowing you traveled from the Netherlands and stayed with us in Cedar City means a lot. We are always looking for ways to improve. We made some changes to our breakfast before you arrived. You comments let us know that we are moving in the right direction. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

was okay-outside look not reassuring-room had a very strong perfume smell of carpet cleaner or something that gave me a headache-had to leave the door open to breath. Breakfast was so-so--coffee not hot-so not a happy camper. Would not stay here again-would pay a few more $$'s and stay elsewhere. Usually can trust Best Western logo-not so much this time---

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Susan,
Thank you for your feedback and mentioning the concerns about your stay. We understand that having a clean fresh room is a top priority to our guests. Your comments are being addressed and we are committed to improving. To illustrate this, we have started to remodel several areas of our property with more to come in the future. Please reconsider trying us again on you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

OK, it isn't the Ritz, but that wasn't the expectation.

I simply wanted a clean and quiet place to sleep with solid WiFi and I found it at the El Rey.

The front desk woman was very helpful and friendly. I never reserve ahead (that's the way I roll) and I got the last room available. I tried booking the room on my iphone and became impatient and simply called the 1-800 number.

We played the best rate game (Are you a member of AAA? No. Are you a member of AARP? No.) and finally she just gave me the manager's rate, which cheaper than anything online or AAA or AARP.

Since it was the last room I would not have surprised if it were located next to an ice machine or the pool. Surprise again. It was a small room, but very conveniently located by my car.

It looks like there are two different buildings, the original building and a newer building. I was located in the original building. A retro-1960's era building. It is due for refresh, but it was clean and quiet.

The room is small, but there are a ton of TV channels and it is a big flat screen for this sized room.

The WiFi signal is very strong and that matters to me.

Again, I was just looking for a place to sleep on a drive between Las Vegas and SaltLake City. The El Rey isn't new, but it is clean and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPatrickinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch S, Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
John,
I am glad we were able to accommodate you during your travels. It seems you won over the desk clerk and got a great rate! It's also nice to know that our location along I-15 is a plus for you and our other guests. Thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel was cheap looking, the A/C did not work much at all but it was a decent price. The pool area was OK but nothing special. I didn't eat the continental breakfast. The rooms were very basic and the beds were a bit on the rigid side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed at El Rey in Cedar City twice and will definitely stay there again. It is very convenient to the Shakespeare Festival and the national parks. The service was excellent, and we have shared the experience with friends and family. I would highly recommend the El Rey toothers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#10 of 22 in Cedar City
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 South Main, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing