We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was worried when we parked because the outer area seems dated but the room was clean and comfortable (although somewhat dated).
I think the thing that brings the outdoor area down is tha they have black outdoor carpeting on the stairs and walkways which will just never look clean, even if it's vacuumed daily! It just shows all the leaves, etc that blow onto it. I get the feeling they are doing some renovations because the carpet had been pulled off one staircase.
Back to the positives: room was fine but dark unless lamps are on. (there are lots of lamps: two bedside lamps plus three others). Bathroom area was fine and clean. Breakfast was good but average: waffles, bagels, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, Danishes, muffins, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, oatmeal packets.
The motel is just about a block and a half from the campus where we were attending the Shakespeare Festival so that was a plus as well.
Good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    49
    30
    17
See reviews for
113
136
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
�N�^^��
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have to say that I was UNPLEASANTLY surprised at the condition of this Best Western! It is so old and worn out it reminded of my days way back when, when I had to stay at a Motel 6. The carpet (room 159) is frayed and stained, as was the chair. The floor in the bathroom is old and yellowed and the towels are ratty, for lack of a better word. It was dark and musty, with curtains falling off the rod. The sheets were old and nubby. Yuck. The girl at the front desk was very nice, though! Breakfast was average, tables were dirty when I went in an hour after breakfast started, and there was no one around. The 2% milk was really watery. The ice machine was broken. The "landscaping" was non exisent and there were huge potholes in the parking lot and driveway. If I had known there was another BW right around the corner that looked gorgeous I would have gladly paid the extra twenty bucks and stayed there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerianne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Check in was fast and we found the room to be clean ( although the carpet could be replaced). Staff at the Motel were great. Bed was very comfortable. It is an older Motel and the office was under renovation. Hopefully they will do the whole Motel. Location was awesome. Room rate was very reasonable. I don't know what people expect for a free breakfast but I found it okay. One has to consider that this is an older Motel in need of updating, however overall experience was okay. OH....there was a great hamburger drive-in a short drive down the street. Pretty darn good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies in the front were great. Every one was friendly. Breakfast was fair ladies where on top of things needing refills no problems with them. Cleaning staff needs work arrived Sunday everything was fine. Go out Monday come back beds made no new soap or shampoo ok not bad. Tuesday stayed in visiting with family just asked for towels and soap all good. Go out Wednesday come back beds made floor not vacuumed crumbs in front of door sink has coffee spots in it mirror has water spots not so good. Thursday come back they skipped the room completely seriously . Front desk said she could give me towels and ect also made a note for cleaning crew. Overall a forty sixty chance I'd stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

a nice 2 night stay. very quiet. roomy,clean. the price couldn't be beat ! breakfast was top notch for free. it had good fruit,yogurt,coffee,juice,top brand cereal,waffles,muffins..wow! the service at the desk was good,even gave us a good place to walk and buy some hard icecream a block away.

Room Tip: pillows are two feet thick,bring your own..we did. wouldn't have been able to sleep with such th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommysaxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This facility needs to be removed from the Best Western Family of Motels because it is anything but. We have stayed in Best Western Motels for years and though many of them are older, we have always found them to be well maintained and staffed by friendly people. We have also found them to be great value for what was received. This motel did not meet those expectations. The staff when checking in was friendly and helpful and gave us the requested ground floor. When we got to our room we found it was clean but definitely in need of updating and some maintenace. But seemed acceptable. The bed was quite good and comfortable. The problems arose in the morning when I went to take a shower. The dfloor of the bathtub was not stable and moved when I stood on it to take a shower. As I took my shower the floor became more pliable and the movedment increased. By the time I finished my shower, I could move the floor very easily and hear liquid sloshing around under it. It was so bad at that point that I advised my wife not to use the shower because I was afraid she might lose her balance and fall. I talked to the staff on duty about this safety problem, and was told they were aware of the problem. Iasked if all of the rooms were this way or just the one we had and was told that it was just that room. When asked why they were renting that room when there were many vacancies in the motel they had no answer. They never offered to let my wife use another room to shower nor did they apologize. The room is 154. The Breakfast was a joke unless you are a carb freak. Cold cereal, day old or more pastries and bread and old hard boiled eggs. We tried a couple of things and threw them away. I dropped something on the floor and used my paper napkin to wipe it up. The napkin came away black. The floor had obviously not been cleaned in some time.

Room Tip: Avoid this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT_Traveler630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

First thing in the morning the toilet overflowed. We went to the front desk and only one person was working, she was having to man the breakfast area as well as deal with complaints. There were two highschool sporting events in town so the place was packed. I felt bad for the front desk person because she didn't have time to find us a plunger and deal with restocking the breakfast area, I blame that on poor management. I figured it would be faster just to buy a plunger at the hardware store up the street, which I did. So be prepared to solve your own toilet issues. Why don't these places get better toilets? They are only 75$ for a powerful toilet. The hotel is in a great central location, walking distance from the center of town, the Shakespeare Festival and the college.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#12 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 South Main, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing