We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been awesome but was really really cold..”
Review of The Iron Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just returned from staying at the Iron Gate Inn -- our second time there. The location is perfect, the rooms are charming, the host and hostess are great, but we froze the whole time were there. Not just chilly, but bone-chilling cold. I'm not sure why -- there was just never any heat on. And breakfast was a disappointment-- small squares of a lukewarm egg dish, some microwave bacon, overly sweet little pastry things. And some cantaloupe. I'm sorry to say I'll be looking for a new place to stay in Cedar City. It was cold when we were there last year as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room --
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We only wish that you had alerted us to your discomfort while you were here, as we would have made every attempt to rectify it immediately. There is an additional convection heater that is installed in the room you selected, but we apologize for not making sure you knew that is was there for your use. Although it is difficult, even painful, to hear that we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate and take seriously your comments as it will help us better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

This beautiful old building has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated.

I was given LucyBelle, named for the owners's grandmother who was a bit of a firecracker!

It's a lovely room with a large bed and delicate writing desk, I had to carefully use for my work.

The bed, pillows and bedding were good. The shower, towels and toiletries were also good.

There's no microwave, fridge or coffee maker, TV or iPod dock in the room.

There's lots of communal space to sit and read or watch TV as there isn't one in the room.

Onsite parking is free but limited.

Breakfast was a standout.

This was a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are from the UK - and stayed at The Iron Gate for two nights after re-routing due to the shutdown. The double room we stayed in was large, really well equipped - and comfortable.
What's the best thing about Iron Gate? The ambience : Susan and CL were great hosts - very relaxed, lots of local knowledge, and generally lovely to be around. R&J

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RCeezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay if seeing a play at the Shakespeare Festival, as it's only one block to walk to the theaters. If you like antiques, but you are tired of frilly rooms that are too crowded and stuffy, this is the place for you. Every room is different. Ours had a door out to the front veranda.
Owners are friendly and hospitable. The very best thing about this place is that every morning they join their guests for a delightful roundtable of conversation, and they make the effort to see that everyone is included.
Only minus is that there is no TV available, either in the rooms or the several common areas.

Room Tip: Go directly to their own website to look at pictures of each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much the wonderful comments and your kindness. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and hope you can be with us again very soon. I am so sorry we didn't communicate to you that we do indeed have flatscreen TVs for our guests and will add them to any room upon request. Because of your comment we have decided to place a special note in each room (instead of just on our website) letting guests like yourself who might want a TV/DVD that they are available. Thank you again for your very considerate comment so we can better serve our fabulous guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The owners could not have been nicer. The proximity to the Utah Shakespeare Festival was very convenient. The wine and lemonade served in the afternoon in the garden was delightful, as were the bedtime sweeties. The breakfast was expertly prepared and delicious. The rooms were very attractive, as well as quiet and comfortable. Not only do I have no complaints about the Irongate Inn, but I would recommend it to any savvy traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erwin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Once again we elected to stay at the Iron Gate and were indeed delighted with our experience as usual. Susan and CR are the epitome of gracious hosts. The atmosphere and accommodations are superior.

Breakfast was delicious and on time. Conversation was lively and far ranging. Although all were in the same lodging but separate quarters, no sound or event or person disturbed our privacy and space.

And ... once again we will make this our preferred stop in the future.

Wayne & Deb Wickizer wwickizer@gmail.com

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely place to stay. I invited friends and they were also very pleased with my selection. Susan and CR are very pleasant and welcoming. Definitely on the list for a return visit. Having the winery on site is a bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: $142 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing