We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After staying at the Iron Gate Inn, why would anyone stay at a regular hotel?”
Review of The Iron Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I took a short weekend trip to Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park. We looked at a variety of options of where we would stay including staying inside the Parks. BUT after a couple of nights at The Iron Gate Inn, we were sooooo glad that we made this decision. This was the first time my husband has stayed at a bed and breakfast and I think he is now hooked. The home was wonderful, the rooms were comfortable, roomy and just perfectly decorated (we took away some great decorating ideas - Susan our hostess has wonderful taste). Yes, our hosts, Susan and CR were warm and welcoming and just gave us just the right amount of attention (how do they know?).

We look forward to planning another trip so we can stay here again. Thanks Susan and CR!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms, however, some rooms only have showers so if you like to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayloryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Iron Gate Inn has been my favorite getaway for 7+ years, whether as a Women's Retreat, as part of my Utah Shakespearean time, or just as a solo retreat.

Susan and CR are always welcoming and warm. They accommodate even the smallest requests... although their hospitality and the inn rarely require any additional requests. It just doesn't get any better!

Had the joy of visiting the Iron Gate Winery this time and sampling the wines. YUM! Brought home a bottle of just about everything they offer.

If you're looking for a cozy getaway in a quaint town that offers plenty of options for dining and entertainment, you can't get do better than The Iron Gate!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are cozy and quaintly decorated. Most rooms have showers only, so if a tub is importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Iron Gate Inn is an absolutely beautiful home, decorated with just the right touch. There are period pieces throughout but not overdone. The hosts, CR and Susan made us feel at home, the moment we walked in. They offered wine before we headed out to dinner, asked about our needs, and gave suggestions for dinner and walking around town. We stay at B&Bs whenever we travel. This is the fourth B&B we've visited in Cedar City and our new favorite. Since it was our first time here, we chose the smallest and least expensive room, the Ruby G. I was very surprised to find it had a spacious feel, a view of the garden, a nice sized bathroom and all the touches of a much more expensive B&B, except no TV. The room was very quiet at night. It was adjacent to the dining room so you could hear the guests arriving for breakfast. Since everyone is served at about the same time, this really isn't a problem unless you wanted to sleep in and lose out on the delicious food! We are already recommending the Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you SO much for the wonderful comments on our inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Just so you know for the next time you come, we have flat screen TVs that can be added to any room if you would like one. We are happy to do so and should have let you know that was an option to enhance your visit.
Come back and see us soon!
Susan & CR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I planned this as a birthday present for my wife. We had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before so I kind of went out on a limb with this one. The Iron Gate Inn did not disappoint. We were very impressed with the peaceful, cozy, home-like feel and the courteous, helpful staff. The room was spacious and the large shower with three shower heads was very luxurious. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. The yard was beautifully arranged. Our experience was very pleasant and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KlevrKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our room, Joy Darlene, was lovely and very large with a great bathroom. Loved the walk in shower. The hosts were so nice and accommodating. We loved being able to do a wine tasting in their winery outback before going to dinner. We were able to walk to a great restaurant nearby which was better than having to get back in the car after traveiing all day. Breakfast was delicious too! We only stay at B&B's when traveling and this was one of the best we have ever stayed in. I am very picky about where we stay and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A beautiful home and wonderful first experience at a Bed & Breakfast! My daughter and I had took an overnight trip to attend "Les Mis" presented at the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We found the Iron Gate on-line and were very pleased with our stay. It is located just 2 blocks from the Festival site and within walking distance to the quaint town area. Our hosts were very gracious and the breakfast was yummy! Beautifully decorated and very comfortable! We're already talking about another trip next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ronondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we were celebrating our anniversary on the way to visit family in California and found this bed and breakfast as a good half-way point for our trip. We found our hosts to be delightful and enjoyed great conversation with them and the accommodations were comfortable and lovely. and breakfast, stuffed french toast with peaches from the property, sausage, and fruit - wonderful. we will definitely be returning to this place on future trips - it was perfect!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
449 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#2 of 23 in Cedar City
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 23 in Cedar City
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720-2536 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: $113 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing