We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B: in a large, remodeled Victorian home, two blocks from main street and the Utah Shakespeare Festival, in a very pleasant, small town. All rooms with private baths, comfortable beds, pleasant decor, and nice linens. Excellent breakfasts and coffee; friendly and helpful hosts; lovely garden with chairs and tables outside. Also has a new winery (Iron Gate Winery) behind the main house with a tasting room that serves (and sells) wines made on the property. A good jumping off location for Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks.

Room Tip: We loved our room downstairs, off the breakfast room; with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are expecting our first baby soon and decided to take one last getaway together. I found this lovely inn online and booked it right away. We stayed in the Joy Darlene room, which was large and comfortable. Susan and CR were very inviting hosts and breakfast was wonderful (we were treated to cinnamon rolls one morning and blueberry french toast the next). Susan's basil lemonade is fantastic. The location is fantastic, just blocks from the Randall Jones theater where we watched "Hamlet" and historic Main Street, filled with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms seemed a bit more popular so we were glad to get one on the top floor, a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanaiWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Put this on your list of places to stay if you're headed toward Cedar City for either the Shakespeare Festival or any of the National Parks in the vicinity. It's comfortable, very welcoming, and a charming place to stay. Great rooms, good breakfast, and many other amenities. Location is central to restaurants and the theater, but located on a very quiet street. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely rooms. Great breakfast. Great hosts. Close to the theatre (1 1/2 blocks away). Can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Cedar City. Get a downstairs room so you don't have to climb the stairs as with many B&B's. Hope you get the french toast breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4cornershiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Susan and CR have created a delightful and relaxing place to stay while enjoying the Shakespear festival. Our group especially enjoyed the wine happy hour in one of their two beautiful parlors before dinner. The lovely, sunny, two-story breakfast room was a wonderful setting for the delicious breakfast. Susan and CR were very welcoming and friendly and shared their knowledge of the area and things to do with us. The B&B is creatively and lovingly decorated. A great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just off the parlor and it was quiet, spacious and comfortable and easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veltheim, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B and it was a great experience. It was a perfect evening on the stoop with a bottle of wine ( Of cours from the Iron Gate Winery) in good company with Butch. The Inn is well located in a quite part but close to the town center. The room was large, very clean and well decorated. We will come back when we're again in Cedar City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Once again we enjoyed our all too brief stay at The Iron gate Inn tremendously. We always feel like we are visiting family and never wear out our welcome. Looking forward to our next trip this coming summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Property: The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 9 exceptional rooms w/private baths and a two bedroom, two bath cottage suite w/kitchen. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing