We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B anywhere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Cedar City, Utah area for the Shakespeare Festival or to tour the parks, you should plan to stay at the Iron Gate Inn. Susan and CR have lived i Cedar City for years and know the area inside and out. They are involved in with the Shakespeare Festival and often have directors, actors and others staying with them who can discuss the shows with you. The roms are spacious and comfortable and breakfast is great. We always eat out on the beutiful patio. Its also a great place to relax during the day. Susan and CR are fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Lovely B&B within two blocks of the Cedar City Shakespeare Festival. From a cold drink (raspberry lemonade or a cool glass of wine) upon arrival, the hosts make you feel like family. They'll book your dinner reservations, and make theater recommendations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with attached baths. A cozy, comfortable and relaxing home away from home and an outstanding festival all in one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Carolyn June has 2 queen beds and jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funskir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our first impression was of hundreds of irises in bloom in front of a stately mansion. Susan was there to warmly greet us and handle the immediate business of checking in. Our room and attached bath were spacious and very accomodating to the traveler's needs.
Since the Cedar City location was chosen for its proximity to National Park hiking, we sought our hosts' advice at breakfast. While enjoying delicious French toast with peach compote (made from their own peach tree fruit), they related their own experiences of the trails of Kolob Canyon and Zion. Throughout our stay, CR and Susan continued to provide us with much helpful information on regional restaurants and other sites of interest.
As fun-loving but discriminating B & B guests, my husband and I felt that the Iron Gate Inn was an exceptionally delightful experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our room was comfortable and spacious. The owners were gracious and attentive. Breakfast was yummy. Location was easy to find and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

EVERYTHING at this bed and breakfast was excellent, all categories (as listed above).
Also, the breakfasts were delicious and varied (and hearty enough to get you going on a good hike, if that's your plan for the day.
the owners were so friendly and hospitable, and my son and I really felt like we living there, not 'guests.' My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, but this is where I/we will definitely stay on the next visit.
TIP: Do leave enough time to see the many major sights in the area (Zion, Kolab Canyon, Bryce, and more) AND explore Cedar City itself (which is small,but charming in a small Western town way).
We could have easily spent our whole week here. Thanks Susan and CR!

Room Tip: you can look online at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat-151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

CR & Susan Wooten are the epitome of what one would expect of B&B hosts. Everything surpassed what was advertised and expected. They are centrally located in town. They are knowledgeable about the community. They are bright eyed and appropriate in their relationships with their guests...definitely NOT intrusive and definitely appropriately responsive. They took time at breakfast for a "sit down" about Cedar City and their business. You are invited to email me at wwickizer@gmail.com for personal verification of the above.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandfather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Enjoyed our time there from arrival to departure. Even though it was a 'full house' weekend...I felt as though we were the only ones with the attention and spaciousness of the home. We were able to enjoy a play and go hiking in Zion. Breakfast's were simply amazing...be prepared to eat...show up hungry! Steve and Mary Chartrand

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marychartrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Property: The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 9 exceptional rooms w/private baths and a two bedroom, two bath cottage suite w/kitchen. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing