We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavorful BBQ Brisket & World's Best Fried Cauliflower”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnyboys BBQ

Sonnyboys BBQ
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Flavorful BBQ Brisket & World's Best Fried Cauliflower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stopped on the way back from skiing Solitude outside Salt Lake for a late lunch. We had the double burnt ends sandwiches, beans and fried cauliflower. The sandwich was so good that I took a lb. to go. Yes, as others said it is pricey, but you get what you pay for. I have paid nearly the same elsewhere so it is not out of line. It is not fast food, it is quality food! Sure you can get frozen at Costco cheaper, but who wants frozen all the time. Now the cauliflower was the best I have ever had and I have had it in a 100 different places in a dozen states. If you want cheap fast food try Arby's. When I want a quality meal of smoked meats and I am in Southern Utah, I will stop at Sonny Boy's BBQ!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    117
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
254 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Was just O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food was tasty - could have been a little warmer (temperature). Was not that clean the day we were there. But, would go back - food was good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingerTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Cedar City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Sonny Boys has the best BBQ in town. We eat here a few times a month. Service is always fast and friendly. The food is consistently great. Portion sizes are generous. The sides are great. I love the cauliflower best. Give them try. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and they are always busy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I will eat the brisket and ribs, and I cannot do that anywhere else in cedar. It's a nice dry-rub, with custom sauce options. I've had the pulled pork, brisket, ribs, chicken, and the smoked prime rib when they offer it. There are always customers there, and they pull in a wide cross-section of customers. I highly recommend Sonny Boy's!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed-of-Cedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fresh BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We needed a quick lunch stop in Cedar City and wanted to try something new. Sonny Boys was a place recommended to us by a doctor's office. We ordered the Thursday special, roast turkey sandwich, and it was delicious! Moist, fresh and hit the spot for my husband and I. Side of fries and mac n' cheese also tasty. They have a sauce bar where you can load your own sauces on your sandwiches. Atmosphere was fun and very clean, and service was quick. We will visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonnyboys BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonnyboys BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing