We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception staff but busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great reception staff but busy hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our final Holiday Inn stop of our trip from Yellowstone to Vegas. The ladies on reception were very friendly and offered honest advice on what to do and where to go in Cedar City, but this was a very busy hotel and it showed.

This was the only hotel where we were given Queen beds on the second floor, and I think this was probably a bad choice. The hotel appeared to be full of families with lots of children all based on our floor. The pool was pretty much a 'no go' area for us as there were hoards of barely supervised children diving in and out of it.

Instead I took the opportunity to get the laundry done - this had the best guest laundry facility in any of the hotels we'd stayed in, with 2 washers and 2 dryers available.

Breakfast room offered the standard HI Express breakfast but again the hoards of unsupervised children didn't make for a pleasant breakfast experience.

Overall, the hotel wasn't bad and ok for an overnight stay close to the I15.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30statesJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear 30statesJo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to know you were appreciated the service delivered by our staff as well as our laundry facilities. However, it was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    140
    52
    20
    7
See reviews for
116
120
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed recently while on a family road trip. The room was clean and spacious. We had two queen beds plus a sofabed. It also had a little fridge/kitchen nook. The hotel allowed dogs which was our major reason for choosing this property. But once we arrived I was glad we had chosen it as it looked to be one of the best in the area. The front desk clerk was very helpful in helping us find some late night eats in the area after a long day of driving too. Right off the I-15, easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Its a Holiday Inn Express so I don't expect decadence but I do expect it to be up to the standard of other Holiday Inns I have stayed at but this one just was missing something. The toilet had a hard time flushing, it didn't have the plugs in the lights themselves like others of this chain do and the level of noise was unacceptable. It was quiet once we went to sleep but leading up to that I did not need to hear children running a screaming on all 3 levels of the hotel. The one staff attendant at the front desk was not equipped to deal with the chaos. The breakfast was also not the same variety as other HI Express we have stayed at. It was nice but there was just something missing thus not worth the extra I paid to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure you are not near the stairwell. The elevator is very slow so most people are taking the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaBean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LolaBean55,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. We are sorry for the level of noise created by some other guests during your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our road trip from west to east coast. We checked in late but they were very accommodating and answered all our questions. After grabbing dinner downtown, we went for a swim in the pool which was kept very clean and it was very refreshing.
Our room was fairly clean, but there were several hairs in the bathroom.
When we had a minor problem with the toilet, the staff was very prompt and helpful in fixing it.
Breakfast was pretty good and it's FREE! Although I do wish they had more fruit.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbogenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas near san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two times in the past week and the two rooms that we had were clean, and smelled fresh. The hotel staff were very friendly and and helpful. The hotel is located right off the highway running throughout the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We frequently travel between California and Utah to visit family. Usually we stay in St George, but this time we stayed in Cedar City. We were very pleased with this Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean and comfortable. I especially liked the lighting in the bathroom as it was bright enough for me to see clearly how my hair and makeup were. (Sometimes lighting is so low that you're not really sure what you'll look like in the daylight!)
My husband loved the breakfast as they had biscuits and gravy, along with pancakes, eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: Even though we were in a room next to the elevator, it was very quiet - just the way we like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorac11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

First off, our Garmin GPS took us way too far, watch the signs and follow them if your GPS wants to take you way past Cedar City, take EXIT 57.

The staff really make this nice property into a great one. It has everything I expect from a HI-Express. The rooms are quiet, clean and nicely-appointed. We never ended up using the indoor pool, but there was always families in there having lots of fun. We did use the fitness center once, and the exercise bike looks like it was repaired rather shoddily (the left pedal is kind of crooked).

We got a very good recommendation for a wonderful wood-fired pizza place called Centro from the front desk girl working the weekend evenings. It was spot-on. We ended up going twice!

We were there to enjoy the National Parks (Bryce and Zion) and their list of recommended hikes was again - really helpful. The staff are quite knowledgeable about the area, so if you're staying more than a night, don't hesitate to ask questions.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the east side (not the interstate side), you might want to choose 2nd floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreeny80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.4 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
316 reviews
2.3 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cedar City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cedar City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Address: 1555 S Highway 91, Cedar City, UT 84720-8227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cedar City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, a new hotel located in Cedar City, Utah ,home to the world renowned Utah Shakespearean Festival. Located just off Interstate 15, you will have convenient access to Southern Utah University, Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, Brian Head Ski Resort, and Grand Canyon North Rim which are all just a short scenic drive away from our 100% smoke free property. Guests will enjoy our friendly staff, plush new bedding, luxurious bathroom amenities, and spacious upgraded suites. Experience culture at the Utah Shakespearean and Neil Simon Festivals. You can also feed your hunger for adventure with a wide variety of outdoor recreational activities including hiking, ATV trail riding, mountain biking, fishing, horseback riding, snow and water skiing.Cedar City offers many local services and attractions and we are certain you ll enjoy your stay with us in the Festival City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cedar City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City Hotel Cedar City
Holiday Inn Cedar City
Cedar City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing