We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific woodfired pizza & service”

Centro Woodfired Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 125 Restaurants in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our mission is to provide our customers (our friends) with casual and fun dining experience with exceptional customer service and homemade fresh and creative food. Oh and a great selection of local micro brews & wine too!
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stopped in Cedar City 9/18/12 on our way to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Tried the pizzeria based on its TripAdvisior ranking and even though it was a Tuesday evening, the place was buzzing. We were greeted by the owner as we stepped inside, and our server, Chris, was personable and knowledgeable, plus the pizza of the day, Pizza Bianca, (we popped for a couple add-ons), was excellent! The thin crust had the perfect "mouth-feel" and along with the fresh ingredients was a welcome change from the typical fare found in most small towns on our 5,000+ mile roadtrip. The place itself had more of a bistro feel than the typical pizzeria and the wine selection, though limited was good. The free off-street parking was ample. FYI, their official name is Centro Woodfired Pizzeria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine23California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 844 of 934 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been here three times on three trips this summer. Each time we've had different types of pizza, and they have all been good. The arugula pizza has a great lemon oil on it, and the bacon/grape/blue cheese one was surprisingly good. Service was efficient and friendly.

Thank Uluave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The pizza was quite good. The place is quite small. Wait staff allows patrons to linger too long after completing the meal. Tables turned very slowly. Patrons nursed drinks for what seemed like an eternity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 103travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Centro Woodfired Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. While we can’t do much about the size of our restaurant, we can certainly strive to improve our customer service. We’ll discuss your experience with our staff and stress the importance of timely service. We hope that your next visit to Centro will be far more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Cute little restaurant with a very quick staff. The food was honestly just okay. The menu is very, very limited. 2 choices for appetizers... 2 choices for salads... maybe 6 different pizza's. It's neat that they use fresh ingredients but that doesn't make up for mediocrity. I have had better thin crust pizza and it's never smothered in flour. Our server took our order with his iphone? Very unprofessional in my opinion... it looked like he was texting while at our table. Sadly, we probably won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CJT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Centro Woodfired Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate your honesty and feedback and hope that you will give Centro another chance. Our menu may seem limited but we are a pizzeria first and foremost, much like the pizzerias of Italy. We concentrate on producing exceptional, wood fired pizza rather than having an extensive menu. We do offer over 20 different ingredients in which one can customize any of our pizzas (even our salads) to create hundreds of different options.

We feel that the process of wood fired cooking produces a more distinctive, flavorful pizza than the American versions. However, wood fire does present some challenges in that food is cooked at a very high heat. The delicacy of our dough requires a flour dusting to prevent it from sticking to the oven surface and keep the pizza from falling apart in the oven. Cornmeal used in American pizza would burn too easily in our oven. It’s unfortunate that your pizza may have had an excessive amount of flour and we will discuss this with our staff but please recognize that flour is simply part of wood fired cooking.

Many people are not familiar with the I-Pod systems and we understand how they may seem like a strange way of taking an order. We opted to use an I-pod system because of their efficiency- allowing our staff to concentrate on the customers rather than taking up valuable time and space inputting orders at a wait station. Many of our customers appreciate the use of the technology and comment that it adds to the overall dining experience. However, we appreciate your concerns and will make adjustments to the I-Pods so that their purpose is more obvious to the customer.

Again, we are saddened that you did not enjoy your meal and we’ll address your concerns with our staff to ensure a more satisfactory experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Centro Pizzeria is a welcome addition to the Cedar City area. I travel through and stay in this area quite a bit and frankly the problem here is not eating fast food, at big chains or mediocre mom-n-pop establishments. Though Cedar City is a growing little town with lots of festivals it lacks creative dining options.

While woodfired pizza is nothing new, this new restaurant really is trying to bring on a new look and feel to dining in the town. They could just as easily fit into Santa Monica or another metro area. The interior is contemporary and comfortable with old brick walls and nice lighting. Great music playlist but overall the music was about three notches too loud. Had the restaurant been full you'd have a very hard time having a conversation. That's my only complaint. There's a difference in creating a good vibe and volume isn't the only component.

I had the Margharita Pizza. I requested it well-done and crispy and that's exactly what they delivered. Great taste, fresh ingredients and more than enough for one person. Not including tip the bill was about $11.50

Cedar City needs more places like this and if you'd rather eat at and support a small private restaurant instead of another corporate chain food trough, give Centro a shot and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Woodfired Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Centro Woodfired Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing