We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty & Stinky”
Review of Cedar Rest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Rest Motel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty & Stinky”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The lobby smelled like some sort of old fish. The room wasn't really clean. We were glad, we only stayed here for one night. We weren't shure, if the room was bug-ridden… It felt itchy the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    10
    5
    17
See reviews for
13
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was literally the most disgusting place I've ever been. There was chewing gum on the wall, mold in the shower, cigarette burns through the whole thing. The attendant was aweful too. His shirt was dirty and when we went to talk about the room he gave us, he said "NO REFUNDS" which was fine, we left and went somewhere else. Hopefully he uses our money to make that place a little more decent.

SERIOUSLY THE WORST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cedar City hotels

Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We checked in as it was snowing out. Room 101 - the TV did not work, so we were put in room 102 where the TV worked, BUT, the room was so cold it was intolerable. We gave the heater 90 minutes and still it was too cold to survive. We left for warm room somewhere else. We got no apology and still, after a month, no refund on our Visa card.

Room Tip: GO somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is rightfully placed near the very bottom of the TA hotel rankings. We originally planned to drive on to Kanab, but had to stop at Cedar City as it was getting dark. We saw quite a few cars in the motel parking lot and decided to take our chances.

The best thing I can say is that the room was clean, it was also reasonably spacious. The bathroom fittings were very old and the wash basin taps were so small I needed my kids to operate them. The mattress was a bit soft, but we managed to get some decent sleep.

The principal downside at this motel is the complete indifference of the management. They give the impression that the motel is what it is, and you can take it or leave it. Communicating in English was also tough, so if you speak Hindi or Gujarati that might make things easier.

The breakfast was very limited and there is no place to sit down while you’re eating. This did, though, enable us to get away quicker, which was much appreciated.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Total is under two twenties, staff is quick checking you in, happy to extend (considering you were respectable) and the motel rooms pillows are nice, beds comfy, provides microwave and fridge, I even found the staff very smiley, friendly, and asking if I needed anything when I checked in and also in the morning. They were a cute and sweet Indian couple. I don't know what there is to complain about. The decor is typical cheap motel, not that appealing to the eye, but it is a clean motel and I found it peaceful. Thank you guys! If ever I come thru this boring town again, I'll stay here. It's also next to a delicious little hole n the wall appearing Mexican joint... I recommend!

Room Tip: If they aren't busy they let you have your preference of upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As soon as we checked in we wanted to
Leave Our room had a 1/4 roll of toilet paper and when we ran out at 10 pm we went down stairs to look in our car for more as their office was closed and the owner told my husband that we needed to go to sleep already !!! My 30 yr old husband was told to go To sleep !! The lady was extremely rude as well !
We wanted to leave 10 min after we checked in but didn't want to waste our 40 bucks. Sink didn't work , no shampoo , heater took 4 hours to heat room ( in snow !) never never again !

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiigirlinutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Only 45 dollars for my wife and I and our dog. Includes two comfortable queen beds, continental breakfast and free wi-fi. The room smells like a typical budget motel. The TV works. Carpet by the door is a little torn but otherwise the room is in decent shape. I would stay here again if passing through Cedar City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duluthduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.4 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#9 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#21 of 22 in Cedar City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Cedar City
Knights Inn Cedar City
#17 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Rest Motel

Property: Cedar Rest Motel
Address: 479 S Main St, Cedar City, UT 84720-3569
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Rest Motel is only 2 1/2 hours north of Las Vegas and 3 1/2 hours south of Salt Lake City on Interstate 15, one will discover a unique small city complete with world-renowned theatricals, astounding beauty, and unbelievable outdoor recreation. Because of its business friendly environment, Cedar City is home to several national industrial and manufacturing businesses. From major corporations to solitary enterprise, businesses large and small have found success in Cedar's economy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cedar Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar City Rest Hotel
Cedar Rest Motel Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing