We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Depot Grill - CLOSED

Depot Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Steakhouse serving a variety of dishes from steak, seafood and pasta to delicate desserts with all the in betweens.Located in an historical train depot.
Ripon, WI
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I ate at the Depot Grill during a stay in Cedar City. It was a very nice experience. As suggested by the name, the Grill is located in a restored railroad depot. The restoration was carried out very well, with great use of dark woods that gave it an atmosphere somewhat like that of a refined gentleman's club with a tinge of bistro. The food was excellent. I had the osso bucco with risotto which was excellently prepared while my wife had her annual hamburger which she said was close to awesome. Our waitress was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Overall, this was a refreshing way to finish a day of driving and sightseeing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud K, Manager at Depot Grill, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed both our food, service and our historic location. Safe travels to you. Chef Bud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    90
    36
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Food was average but pricey / service was very good.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We looked forward to have dinner there, because according to most trip advisor reviews this is the place to dine in Cedar City.
But we were a bit disappointed. The burger was ok, but nothing fancy (for 15 bucks I expected a lot more). The filet was very small but taste was ok - overall just average). Ribs were too big for baby back ribs in our opinion. Taste was ok.
They don't have any draft beer - some kind of a disappointment.
But service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud K, General Manager at Depot Grill, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. Here at the Depot Grill we look at each and every review in a positive way to help us succeed, help us find weak points and help us keep up our stringent food and service standards. Wanted to clarify a few points you mentioned.
Our ($12.00) burgers as stated on our menu include a 1/2 pound certified Angus patty (brisket/chuck blend) two slices of premium sharp cheddar cheese, heirloom tomatoes on a brioche bun.

We hand cut only certified Angus steaks. Our filet Mignon is offered in both a petite (6oz) or larger 10 oz size. We cut all steaks to menu specifications, no skimpy portions.

We buy premium baby back ribs with a two pound average. These are super meaty baby backs, almost twice the weight of of your standard baby backs. We slow braise (not smoke) our ribs for a super moist tender rack.

We are currently working with our very stringent Utah liqueur board on bringing beer on tap in the very near future.

Again thank you for your review.
Chef Bud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best salmon ever”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Tonight we ate at Depot Grill after a long day of travel. Chef Bud grilled a delicious salmon served atop a potato pancake, perfectly cooked veggies and a dill leek sauce. We were so full we did not sample the wonderful desserts. Our server, Charles, was excellent, as well. Everyone else's steaks and pasta looked and smelled delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gayle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud K, General Manager at Depot Grill, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see again soon.
Chef Bud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Forget wine by the glass”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had an early dinner here before our Shakespeare play and this is a mixed review. My wife ordered a vegetarian dish that was very good and the sort of choice that is hard to find. It had quinoa and a mixture of vegetables of good quality. I had a burger that was way overcooked for "medium rare", but was okay. My wife's glass of Chardonnay for $10 was half of a normal pour and the waitress who poured it thought that was just fine. Hardly!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrollZahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud K, Manager at Depot Grill, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. As the Chef/manager here at the Depot grill our goal is 100% satisfaction before you leave our restaurant. We apologize if you left feeling not completely satisfied. Sorry you felt your burger was over Cooked and should have been prepared right. We would have made another one straight up in which, I as the chef would of made sure it was cooked to perfection. My staff has a great success rate in cooking meats to temperature and rarely goes over temp. As for the wine we are very restricted by state regulation. State mandates a four ounce pour on wines by the glass and each glass is measured per state regulation. We are at a price disadvantage, as here in Utah we as a business pay retail prices on all liqueur. Again thank you for your review. Hope you will try us again in the future.
Chef Bud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great food with a nice atmosphere. Located near the Best Western where we were staying. The service was very good and the salmon and chicken dishes were delicious. Waiter was very attentive. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing