We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find - a must stay for luxury”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a Find - a must stay for luxury”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Wow, what a great place to stay. After hiking Zion all day, we found this hotel in the tavel coupon guide for just $69 in Cedar City. Friendliest staff. The room was fanstastic. 2 queen beds with silk bedspreads, first class furniture, 42" flat screen TV, granite counter tops, Microwave and Frig, close to gas stations and restaurants. WiFi was good. This room was as nice as hotels I've stayed in that cost $200 a night. Full, hot breakfast is served in a house next to the property. Quiet and the bed was as confortable as one you'd find at a spa - like sleeping on a cloud. A real gem!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumbylives10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    228
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
286
381
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Not just a great value - downright cheap! Fabulous rooms, great full breakfast, very helpful staff. For breakfats, we had to walk across the parking lot to what looked like a private residence. Inside were tables and some wonderful ladies cooking what you wanted - nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packratdc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Nice, clean hotel. Parking outside our door was free. They have a gated separate pool/jacuzzi building with plenty of fluffy towels. The breakfast was so-so, the standard scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, or make your own waffles and was served in a small house nearby dedicated just for that purpose. We found the breakfast room crowded and small - but there was a tour bus full of older people eating at 7:00am so they could get on the road and that contributed to the crowding [and noise! People from Chicago apparently yell their conversations. ; ) ]. There is an IHop next door, that would be a better bet for a good breakfast. The room was quite nice, looked to be remodeled recently in a pseudo-Spanish mission (?) style. Nice TV. We stayed in another hotel on the other side of our trip (going up to Salt Lake City while we stayed here on the way back down) that cost a bit less but had a dedicated restaurant attached and that was a bit older. Kind of a toss-up here, it was a nice hotel room (the Abby) and very clean, with VERY comfortable beds, but not sure it was as generically friendly as the place on the other side of the highway. Would definitely recommend the Abby to older adults - there seemed to be quite a few there. There's also a laundry for patrons on-site, which is a godsend when traveling. All in all, a decent enough place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momzillasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This room was very clean, very quiet, and included things not often seen at motels in the same price range, such a as flat screen tv, curved shower curtain rod, and upscale toiletries. It was a very comfortable room, except the pillows. Unfortunately, the pillows were really fat and lumpy. Everything else about the room was great. Breakfast was ok. It was hot, and there was some variety. And, of course it was free.

No reservations recommending this hotel (for the price). Service was very friendly, too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

All I'd expect at this price point is a reasonably clean room, but you'll get so much more than that here. This is an outside corridor, two story motel (with an elevator), but the rooms are nicely done with upscale furniture and bedding. Rooms even have 42" LCD HD TVs. The location couldn't be better...a block or so from I-15...surrounded by just about every fast food restaurant you can think of and an IHOP in the parking lot out front. The free breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, canned fruit, whole fresh fruit, various cereals, make-your-own waffles, and juice. It was fine for what it is, but nothing special. I can't really comment on how well insulated the rooms are because there were few guests the night we stayed. Our air conditioning didn't work, but it wasn't warm at night. When reported the next morning the desk clerk was appropriately apologetic. I'm sure they would have changed our room if I had asked, but for one night I didn't care that much. Overall I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband and I both agreed that the Abbey Inn was the best motel we have ever stayed in. Everything from the price, to the room, to the hot breakfast, to the service, to the indoor pool was great! We loved it!

The bed was extremely comfortable with a soft new mattress and upgraded new linens. The room was immaculate and had a more updated look to it then most roadside motels.

The free hot breakfast was great and the staff kept the area up well (unlike many motel breakfast areas that are not well stocked or over-crowded).

The pool was nice and empty when we were there. The only down-side to the pool is that you have to walk outside to get to the indoor pool, obviously only an issue when the weather is cold, and not a big deal to us, just wore sweats over our suits to walk to and from pool.

Hands down this place is great, especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsuelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Great, reasonably priced hotel - rooms were clean and quiet and had a great 42" LCD TV.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cziegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing