We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Took a trip from Vegas up to Utah to ski for the weekend and used Tripadvisor for recommendations on a place to stay. Everything in Brian Head was over $130/night. We did not mind the extra commute to stay at Abbey Inn. The room was in great shape and we loved the 42" flat screen! The included hot breakfast was great and there was a very friendly staff! Our only complaint was we were charged $5 a night for the use of a crib. This was the first time I have been charged anywhere for the use of one. I was able to use the "Ski package" discount code to get a great price on an excellent hotel! We will be back in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clemsonpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. The Abbey Inn is an excellent choice for Brian Head skiers and snowboarders. Not only do we offer a ski discount, but Cedar City has more dining and entertainment options than Brian head. Plus, the commute is not long at all. There are also shuttle services that we can recommend to people who prefer not to drive themselves. We also recommend Brian Head during the summer season for hiking and biking. It's a great way to cool off. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    231
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
302
389
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here twice coming and going into the National Parks in Utah. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable. This is an excellent value for what you get. When we find a hotel like the Abbey Inn, we stop our web searching and stay with a proven property.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room location at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradford5188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are thrilled that you found our hotel online and stopped your search then and there. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We hope you enjoyed your vacation to the national parks and hope to see you again soon. There is so much to do in Southern Utah, and each season has different attractions. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We read the reviews and also had a coupon and were delighted with what we found at the Abbey Inn in Cedar City, UT. The room was in amazing condition with all new furniture (the designer's touch was very apparent), a large HDTV, fridge/microwave, great Internet connection, quality bedding and granite counters in the bathroom.
This is the fifth hotel that we have stayed in on this trip (with almost all having a national brand affiliation) and the Abbey Inn (independent) is definitely the best of them all. We used the well equipped exercise room and had a delicious breakfast. There was even real stationary and envelopes in the desk drawer.
The Abbey Inn is a real find if you are going to Zion National Park, visiting Southern Utah Univ. or on the way to Vegas. It is very rare to find a hotel off Interstate 15 with this level of quality at a very reasonable price. It really sets a high standard that most chain hotels rarely match for a higher price. While indoor corridors would have been nice on a very cold night, the elevator worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We certainly do our best to be set apart from national chains. As an independent hotel, we must take extra care to make your stay memorable, and we are delighted to hear how we compared to the other hotels on your trip. As you mentioned, the Abbey Inn is an excellent choice for travelers visiting the national parks and Southern Utah University, and we also recommend visiting Utah Shakespeare Festival and Brian Head Resort . We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Abbey Inn is my favorite place to stay in Cedar City. Some of the chain hotels in town are newer, but the rooms at the Abbey are the quietest I have found in town. They are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The mattress on the bed I slept in on my most recent stay was a bit worn, but I still had a good night's sleep. The room had a fridge and microwave in it, and the TV was big and nice. The breakfast was really good. High quality food, and lots of options. The people who helped me with my phone reservation, checking in, and checking out were uniformly polite and helpful. I had a room on the first floor and was glad to be able to back right up to the sidewalk for unloading and then loading up again the next day. Great locally operated place to stay. I have used the swimming pool here in the past, and it was nice. It and the breakfast room are in two separate buildings and are not attached to the main building.

Room Tip: If you don't want to deal with stairs or long walks from your car, request a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for returning to the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. As an independent hotel, we rely heavily on word-of-mouth referrals, and we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. it is great to hear that our staff is taking good care of our guests from the time or reserving the room through check-out. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home USA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was very happy with how clean this hotel was. I wasn't afraid to take my shoes off for once! The beds are comfortable but the pillows are small. That's probably the only thing I would have changed was the size of the pillows. There was a nice sized TV with basic cable and decent wifi to easily connect to. The breakfast was the basic sausage, eggs, waffles, cereal, etc. but the service was great and it was all kept hot. Bottom line, I'm not afraid to go back especially with how reasonable their prices were.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Inn. It is good to hear that our guests enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. We strive to maintain our reputation as #1 in Cedar City, and we appreciate you for helping us do so by sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, great shower, really professional and friendly staff, breakfast better than average (real food!), inexpensive. Really glad we stayed here. Would stay here again.
.....................................................................

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benedictnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November 2013 and were pretty happy. The rooms are large, clean and well decorated. We used the heated indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, which were a welcome relief on a bitterly cold day! The lady on the front desk was very helpful, directing us to the excellent Centro Woodfired Pizzeria for an evening meal. And the location is very good.

Only problem was the breakfast - lots of paper plates, cups, plastic knives and forks etc, which just went in the bin afterwards. Why all this waste?! A plea to the hotel owners of America - please stop this awful practice and invest in some proper crockery and a dishwasher. I can't believe the running costs will be that much more in the long run, and you won't be contributing to all this terrible waste.

By the way, Cedar City is a nice little town, and we fully enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn. We truly appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. Regarding the use of paper plates and plastic utensils, we have looked into our options and feel that we have made the best choice considering the size of our breakfast facility. We simply cannot accommodate a commercial dishwasher in our breakfast house. We do however select products that are biodegradable when possible. We are conscious of our environmental impact and certainly try to reduce it where possible. Perhaps in the future, we may be able to make some of the changes you recommend. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cedar City
Ramada Cedar City
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
349 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing