We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent only one night here, but we were very impressed. This hotel was spotlessly clean with updated and tasteful decor and an inviting indoor pool and hot tub. Close to many restaurants,easy access to the highway. Included in our $69 price, we enjoyed an excellent and very welcoming breakfast in the breakfast house! The only negative would be the pillows...they really need to be replaced!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize about the pillows not being very comfortable for you. We get some mixed reviews on those. Some people love them because they are thick, fluffy, and very soft while others prefer firmer, thinner pillows. We may need to look into offering choices. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    229
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
294
386
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is great. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Bed is firm with soft top and lots of pillows. Granite counter tops, heat lamp, good water pressure, coffee bar in room, frig and microwave. Large, framed mirrors, roomy desk, flat screen TV, internet, and a full included breakfast right next door in an old converted house. Easy on and off the freeway. It does have a pool and hot tub but since it's a motor inn (you park outside your room rather than go down hallways) you have to go outside to then back inside to get there. However, not a big deal in the least. The night before we'd stayed at a no-tell motel along the way for $78 a night. For $90 a night (including taxes) there is no way you could do any better. And if you're one to avoid chains and support local proprietors, this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sintita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn, for sharing your experience, and for promoting local businesses. We appreciate your attention to detail and for all of the nice things you mentioned. Sometimes people underestimate us because we are a motel, but once they have stayed, they understand why we're the #1 rated hotel in Cedar City. The separate pool house has allowed us to have a larger pool than most. Fortunately, we do have dressing rooms and showers at the pool. Thanks again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose this property based on earlier reviews, however our one night experience was not quite as positive. At checkin, staff were pleasant and our room was clean and well presented. The large bathroom was also a surprise.
The a/c was running on arrival and as we are not a/c people we switched it off and immediately became aware of a low frequency rumble that permeated the room, we think from the wall type units that are in each exterior wall. This persisted all night.
Our room was on the second floor, at the head of the stairs, and we also found that we could clearly hear exterior conversations and people accessing the stairs.
On retiring we then found the bed had a large dip in the centre, and we spent the night wedged in the middle, good thing it was a cool night.
All in all, it wasn't a very restful stay and we would try somewhere else in Cedar City if ever we return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that you were disappointed with your room and bed. Upon receiving your feedback, I went to the room to investigate the low rumble. It appeared to be the heating/AC unit as you mentioned. Even with the AC turned off, the fan was still on which caused the door to slightly vibrate. We are working to correct these issues. However, I understand how that could disrupt your rest, and I am very sorry that it happened. We would love the opportunity to make this right and live up to our reputation. Please give me a call at 435-586-9966. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best value hotel i used on a 24 day roadtrip - just clean , comfortable , good breakfast . The quality swimming pool room was an additional surprise which was also well maintained. At the price charged, excellent , says everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your extended trip. We often hear that the Abbey Inn stands apart from the many other hotels people encounter on such long trips. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Even though from outside it doesn't seem much, I must say the bedrooms are exquisitely decorated! Only stayed here for one night, the truth is that there isn't much to do in Cedar City, unless you are visiting the surrounding parks. However this hotel is a little gem. Very friendly reception staff welcomed us and we got to our room, on the second floor. I was amazed on how nicely decorated the room was and how comfortable the beds were. There is a massive 46 inch flat screen tv, fridge, safe (rare to find in hotels in the USA), etc. plenty of car parking spaces and a very nice indoor swimming pool. Breakfast is served in a separate house next to the hotel, and two lovely ladies are there to welcome you. If I ever come back I'm definitely staying there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juan141171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, the pool and the breakfast. Sometimes people do underestimate us since we are a motel, but once our guests arrive, they understand why we are the #1 rated hotel in Cedar City. When you do come back to the area, we may be able to recommend other things to do during your stay. Depending on the season, our guests enjoy plays at the Utah Shakespeare Festival, skiing or mountain biking at Brian Head, live performances at Southern Utah University or the Heritage Center, shopping in the Historic Downtown of Cedar City, golfing at the Cedar Golf Course, and a variety of music/art festivals and athletic events. For ideas, we recommend visiting www.scenicsouthernutah.com/our-events/. Hope that helps, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Check-in with Brenda was fast and helpful. An area map was provided that lists restaurants based on food type and whether they were open on Sundays. The Inn was just recently remodeled and was very nice. The room (#1217) was spotlessly clean and quiet. The new furniture offered loads of drawer and counter space. There was a full size closet, good lighting and comfortable beds. The shower was good and the towels were big and fluffy.

Breakfast was notable for the friendly staff, cleanliness and unusual location. At the back of the Inn a single family home has been converted to the breakfast area. It is bigger and more pleasant than the usual lobby area breakfast crush. The two women who were keeping breakfast fresh and ready greeted everyone with big smiles and were attentive to all their guests. We had the feeling that if we had stayed longer than one night we would have been considered family.

Everyone we dealt with at the Inn were very personable. Smiling and greeting the guests must be part of the job description because everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. There is absolutely no question that customer service is very important at the Abbey Inn. We will most definitely stay here the next time we are in Cedar City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your personal experience. It means a lot to us when you mention our staff, especially by name. Thank you for your attention to detail and for all of the nice things you mentioned. We wish you could have stayed a bit longer this time, but please let us know when you will be returning to the area. We would love to be your home away from home. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has nice comfortable rooms. The hotel is well maintained. The breakfast is very good. We have always gotten a good night's sleep and we're ready the next day for our trip to Salt Lake City. The prices are very good as compared to other chains.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinWyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Inn and for returning year after year. We truly appreciate our loyal guests and are happy to hear that our staff takes good care of you. We are constantly working to make improvements at the Abbey, so there should always be something new each time you stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cedar City
Ramada Cedar City
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing