We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected resting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
So Cal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected resting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you find yourself enroute thru the mountains of Southern Utah, you should treat yourself to a Great night or nights stay at this very well maintained Inn.
Great price, Free breakfast, spacious and nicely decorated rooms, Clean is the key word here.

Room Tip: It's not a chain, you will enjoy your stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for reviewing our hotel. As you mentioned, Cedar City is a great place to stop for a night or to stay for a vacation. There are many attractions that can keep you busy. Let us know if we can help you plan your next trip in Southern Utah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    223
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
275
367
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We left Las Vegas and drove to Zion, Bryce, Capitol Reef, Arches and Canyonland National Parks. On our return we decided to stop and rest half the distance from Canyonland to Las Vegas, and maybe take in the NWestern section of Zion. This was such a pleasant surprise! The room was large and comfortable as was the bathroom . Lots of room to store out clothes, luggage and prepare coffee. After having suffered from paper thin walled rooms which were very noisy in other places, the quiet was remarkable. The breakfast was easily the best of our trip. I would recommend this hotel to any friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey Inn. It is so nice to hear that we were the best hotel during your vacation. That is what we strive for. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to put together a short trip to southern Utah as a getaway with a 2 day stay in Cedar City. The Abbey Inn looked to be a good deal with breakfast included. Check-in was smooth and the staff was up on road conditions in the area. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was simple but fresh and a real convenience served buffet style in an adjoining house. Over all would stay there again, good value. As a sidebar, don't expect to find much in the way of a place to eat on a Sunday evening... it is southern Utah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are thrilled that you found us and enjoyed your stay. It is good to hear that everything went smoothly for you. Hopefully our front desk staff was able to help you find a place to eat on Sunday night. As you said, many or Cedar's restaurants are closed, but usually we can find something and call for reservations, as long as it isn't too late. We are happy to hear that you may stay again in the future and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Green, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staying at Abby Inn in Cedar City, Utah was a good experience. Comfortable beds, nice pool and hot tub. Everything seems new. The included breakfast was extensive and hot. The front desk people were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey Inn. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. On the other hand I don't recall the last time I had to deal with such rude and uncaring employees, ESPECIALLY the manager. We booked a room for 2 nights. Apparently, the hotel didn't notice that our reservation was PREPAID for 2 nights. When we returned to the hotel, we keyed into our room only to be met by another family. Not only did our key still work in their door, but our things were gone! Obviously we were quite upset, went to the lobby to find out that our stuff had been moved to another room. The manager was rude,
unapologetic and took zero responsibility. She actually said "you don't have to stay here, you can go somewhere, and because you are angry I can kick you out." When we checked out, not ONE employee asked about our stay or apologized for screwing our reservation up in the first place. Our stuff was moved so that another family could check in early. The hotel screwed up and blamed any and every one but took no responsibility. We went to our room only to find that our suitcases were unzipped, and our things had been handled. Clearly The Abbey Inn has all the customers they need because I will never stay there again. Oh and the second night was more expensive than the first and at the VERY LEAST they should have kept the rate at the lower rate.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, and if you have to stay here make sure your length of stay and reservation is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
As the manager of our property, I have to make decisions, that sometimes do not agree with all the parties involved. Your situation was one of them.
We never meant to offend you. We tried to make the best choice for the situation.
I take full responsibility for what happens at the Abbey Inn. I wanted to communicate that with you, but to no avail.
My choice to move your things was the last thing, I wanted to do. Believe me, when I say I am very sorry we had to do that. We tried to do something else, but there were no other options.
We are very fortunate to have many guests and blessed that we are busy. But in saying that, it does not diminish the importance of having you as one of our guests. Everyone of you are important to us.
The success of the Abbey Inn and the happiness of every guest is at the forefront of my mind, everyday. Please accept my sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow what a find, great price,expert reception desk,so helpful,registry was fast,exactly what we needed.Clean,newly renovated,very comfortable. Needed to do some laundry, and found that the machines were clean as well,grateful for that! Truly a find, when traveling,a must if you are in the area.
The breakfast in a little house right next to the hotel, was very nice, attended by two women, that were so helpful,good food.
Certainly would stay again,when in the area..check it out you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our hard-working staff. We are always pleased to hear that they are taking good care of our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here last minute because we decided to move our trip from Springdale to Cedar City to get an early hike in at the Kolob Canyon. What a great decision. Not only did we upgrade our motel but we paid less!! This place is still in the works as far as finishing renovations on all the rooms, but we were able to get a quiet end unit upstairs that was already done. Wow. Spacious room, huge LG flat screen TV, big dresser, two nice comfy chairs, great décor, fridge and microwave, hairdryer, spacious bathroom, and clean!!! Great shower products by Bath and Body Works. Even complimentary makeup remover wipes!! There was an indoor pool with a Jacuzzi that was amazing for our sore muscles. Loved that it was out of the elements and indoors so as not to disturb others in their rooms. And it was open till I believe 10 or maybe even 11. And then there was an amazing complimentary breakfast. We all know what those usually stand for. Just something to tide you over until you can find real food. Not this. It was a real homemade breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy in a crock pot, etc. and it was served in a converted house in the back so as once again not to disturb guests in their rooms. Outstanding!! You are also located near a bunch of places to eat and the freeway. Would absolutely recommend and stay at this motel again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted that you found us and enjoyed your stay. It is good to hear that our newly remodeled rooms are contributing to our guests' enjoyment. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing