We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Basil Thai

Sweet Basil Thai
Ranked #21 of 113 Restaurants in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near Wal-Mart in Cedar City
Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This wasn't the best Thai I've ever had, but it was good. The chicken pad Thai was our favorite dish. The portions were smaller than I expected and the meat was sparse in each dish, but the flavor was good. Its my daughter's favorite place to eat in Cedar City and I would go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationmommaUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great unexpected find in Cedar City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were lookingfor some place different to take our daughter for dinner one evening. She goes to school in Cedar and we were tired of the chain restaurants. Sweet Basil Thai had fantastic food, very friendly staff and it was priced right. Definitly get the mango dessert if you go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1971hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice Thai lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Passing through cedar city and wanted to try something new this visit. We love Thai food and have it frequently, specifically masaman curry and chicken pad Thai. I thought they were ok comparatively, tasty and light, but not heavy with flavor. (I like it creamier than I found here.) My husband really liked the pad thai. I asked for mild because our kids were eating with us and I'm pregnant. She suggested level 2 of 1-10. Service was great, quick and kid-friendly at 12:30pm on a Tuesday. Pricing is reasonable. Portions are served per person not family style size. Restaurant is small. We would stop again as we are passing through.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Level Contributor
199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“For something different . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cedar City has a plethora of Mexican restaurants so finding a good Thai restaurant is a bit of a surprise. If you like Chinese you will probably like the Sweet Basil. Thai is different from Chinese but a similar genre. The food is really good with a great variety of sauces to choose from. You can choose how spicy you want it on a scale of 1-10. I like spicy food but a 3-4 here is pretty warm for me. Our server was very helpful with those choices. It is a small place probably not geared for larger groups or families, Also it is a notch pricier than your average Chinese fare, but well worth it,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rocTheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good tia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

so we wanted to try something a little different and went to this place because of a good recommendation. We found it to be pleasant and tasteful. do not order the level 10!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank oakleafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Thai also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing