We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic family Mexican Restaurant in Southern Utah”
Review of La Casa Don Miguel

La Casa Don Miguel
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most authentic family Mexican Restaurant in Southern Utah”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As a Texas ex patriot I am very familure with Mexican and Tex Mex cusine. This Small family owned restaurant is gem with a large menue and excellant food. The Atmoshere is not fancy but the food more than makes up for it. The prices are reasonable and the portion sizes are generous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    81
    29
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
halesowen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Slow service but very busy”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having read previous reviews we decided to try Mexican food. We are no experts but my husband has had chicken fajitas many times (including making them himself) so he stuck with what he knows. I asked for a recommendation and the waitress bought me a chicken dish. We were given chips and salsa to start but the salsa was very runny and we did not have any napkins. This was rectified when we asked for them. The wait for the main course was long and they bought us extra chips and salsa whilst still waiting. We both enjoyed the food we had although my husband was disappointed with the rice and we had expected more spicy flavour. We tried each other's food and it was very samey. The table we were given was two single tables facing the wall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nv
Level Contributor
344 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Utah”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had lunch at the La Casa Don Miguel in Ceder City UT last week and it was pretty good. I had the lunch special which was a Chili Releno for 5.75. They started the meal off with a small 1/2 taco in some red sauce. As well as corn chips and salsa I liked the bean dip the best.
The lunch had a releno that was tasty, rice, beans and a slaw type salad. It was quit filling. The place is clean and the service very good. I would recommend it to all who enjoy Mexican food,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, Quaint, and Good”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are nearly 20 Mexican food restaurants in the small town of Cedar City, and that's not counting those that have come and gone. Several of them are pretty good, but I like this one the best. It's very small, quiet, and authentic. The atmosphere is nothing to brag about, but their Enchiladas Clasicas are definitely worth bragging about. I've never had enchiladas any better than these. Their other menu items are also very good. Casa don Miguel may not be fancy enough for everyone, but for good, authentic Mexican food, it's my favorite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blahh”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

It wasn't that great...very friendly but the food was whatever I even heard the waitress ask the cook if he remembered how to make the dish...:$ the margaritas are extremely sweet it tasted like syrup...wouldn't go there again...

Helpful?
Thank Marlenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing