We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nope”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden House of Cedar City - CLOSED

Garden House of Cedar City
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orem, Utah, United States
1 review
“Nope”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I went on our honeymoon. It was the last stop before we were to head home. I had been here a couple of times a few years earlier and loved it. What a far and hard fall it has taken. The service was bad, the pastas had no flavor, the crab cakes were overcooked and you could tell that the soup was made from a can with a little extra embellishment. We could hear people fighting in the kitchen. Biggest waste of our money on the whole trip. I'm not kidding, we could have gotten better overall meal at Chuck-A-Rama. I don't know what happened to you guys. You used to be Cedar City's best kept secret, and my favorite restaurant. Shame, shame. It's time to revamp things and get them back to the way they were.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    18
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The restaurant is in an old mansion with a beautiful grand wooden staircase set amongst a lovely flower garden near the University. There were also tables outside. I only wish the food lived up to the ambiance. I had a caprese salad and the tomato was not ripe. My husband's steak was over seasoned. Service was excellent and we were comped for the dessert when I mentioned my dissatisfaction over the salad. Maybe, the kitchen was just having a bad night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mpollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, horrible food and service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've lived in cedar city for a little over a year and I have always wanted to try this place. How very disappointed I was. The food and service where terrible I ordered the surf and turf and my shrimp was raw in the middle. The caprese salad was so bland. The only good part about our 80$ meal was the asparagus soup and the beautiful house. I do not recommend this place for anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drewpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is in a 107 year old home with beautiful gardens and wonderfully restored interior. A quiet, open setting and great food. If we were Cedar City residents this would be one of our "go-to" dinning places. The menu has a little of everything. It seems like anybody could find something to suit. The Coquilles St. Jacques were delicious and the Italian lemon cream cake was the crowning glory to the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeEZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely place, food does not live up to atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really, really wanted to like this place. Located in a lovely craftsman house on a quiet side street. We arrived on a warm evening, it was stuffy where we were seated, (windows did not open, and AC was not on yet), so we asked to be seated outdoors, which was very pleasant. Unfortunately the food did not live up to the atmosphere. The chef has created an ambitious menu, which looks very inviting. My companion's prime rib was lacking in flavor and had a peculiar spongy texture, accompanied by uninspired sides. Not being very hungry, I ordered an entree salad. Possibly the most disappointing salad I have ever tried to eat. Somewhat wilted lettuce was accompanied by jarred beets, tastless asparagus spears (?) tough artichoke hearts, also out of a jar, and tough grape tomatoes. Worst of all was the dressing, an inedible combination of olive oil, way too much balsamic vinegar and what was touted as roasted garlic, but tasted like bitter, burnt garlic. To the chef: No amount of fancy preparation makes up for inferior ingredients. Maybe this passes for gourmet in Cedar City, but with a little effort, I.E. better quality ingredients, this place could be much better. I am sorry to have to give this restaurant a mediocre rating, but it is deserving...I did not give it a poor rating, because the atmosphere is very pleasant and perhaps those in charge will attempt to improve the quality of their ingredients.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiefromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden House of Cedar City also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing