We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was pleasant facility was clean room was ok hair in...”
Review of Super 8 Thurmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Thurmont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    79
    55
    59
See reviews for
146
64
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped here with my grandma, father, and sister for a night during a long road trip. Jo Ann at the front desk was incredibly helpful and fun to talk to. In the morning, I asked her if the hotel had a fitness room, and it does not. Instead, she directed me to nearby Catoctin Park (10 minutes from hotel), where I went for a beautiful trail run. There are some decent restaurants in the area as well. The hotel itself is about what you'd expect for a place in this price range; clean, cozy, and budget-friendly. I will definitely stop here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my second time staying at Super 8. We were double billed the first time we stayed here but the desk manager took care of it immediately. This time the lady working at the front desk went above and beyond to accommodate our needs for things not available in our room such as iron and ironing board. She was so nice to work with.

Rooms are somewhat dated, but the facility is quite adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There were dead bugs all over the place, even on the desk.
The bathroom was never really cleaned; there were hairs everywhere; many of which looked to be pubic hairs.
The beds are as hard as a wooden board.
My "non-smoking room" smelled like cigarette smoke (as did the entire hotel)...

Honestly, this hotel is UTTERLY DISGUSTING and you'd be better off sleeping in a tent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mister W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After Reading Some of The reviews I Decides to visit .thurmont md Has A Quality Of IS Own. Most People That Are Not From The Area Will Condemn Just To Get A Discount ..Because They Are FREE-DISCOUNT THIEVES , This Hotel IS Very Clean, Staff Was Very kind to my Family , Very Safe Place To Stay , Breakfast Was nice Continental as promise . IF You Want A Bigger Breakfast Mountain gate resturant IS 500 FT Across The Street.. This Hotel Best Value Good Taste. Encourage all come enjoy your stay

Room Tip: All rooms are good first floor if you too lazy walk stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
13.5 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
54 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
636 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Waynesboro
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Thurmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Thurmont

Property: Super 8 Thurmont
Address: 300 Tippin Dr, Hwy 15 Exit Hwy 806 Turn West, Thurmont, MD 21788-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Thurmont 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located 15 Miles From Historic Gettysburg Battlefield, 5 Miles From Cunningham Falls State and National Parks and Only 7 Miles from Catoctin Mountain Park Book your room at our Super 8 Thurmont hotel near Cunningham Falls State Park. Located just off Highway 15 between Frederick, MD, and Gettysburg, PA in the Appalachian Mountains and just a short drive to Catoctin Mountain Park, Mount St. Mary's University and Frederick Municipal Airport, our pet-friendly hotel provides comfortable accommodations and friendly service at an affordable rate. Start each day at our Thurmont, MD, hotel with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza and enjoy great in-room amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with a refrigerator are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel, and there is plenty of free parking for your bus, truck or RV. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS If you are an outdoor enthusiast or Civil War buff, you will find great attractions near our Thurmont hotel. Travel north on Highway 15, crossing the Pennsylvania border, to visit the hallowed grounds at Gettysburg National Battlefield Park to see distinctive turning points in the battle at Little Round Top and Devil's Den. Cunningham Falls State Park is a great spot for hiking, fishing and canoeing, just five miles from our hotel, and Catoctin Mountain Park, site of the Camp David presidential retreat, is just 7 miles away from our hotel. The Eisenhower National Historic Site, Barbara Fritchie House and Gambrill State Park are also nearby, and it is just an hour drive to Washington DC. DINING OPTIONS Choose from dozens of family-friendly restaurants just outside our Thurmont hotel starting with Mountain Gate Family Restaurant. Or You could head over to Main Street, and try comfort food at Thurmont Kountry Kitchen. If you're craving Asian you can try Simply Asia, New wing hing, or Peking Palace.Or one of our two Italian restaurants Rocky's or Fratelli's for dine-in or Delivery. You could even head about 10 minutes north on Highway 15 and eat at Fitzgerald's Shamrock, one of Western Maryland's favorite source for casual fine dining. Our little town of Thurmont is also home to a McDonald's, Wendy's, KFC/Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Roy Rogers, Subway and Burger King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Thurmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Thurmont
Thurmont Super 8
Thurmont Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing