We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Good taste”
Review of Super 8 Thurmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Thurmont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
“Best value Good taste”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After Reading Some of The reviews I Decides to visit .thurmont md Has A Quality Of IS Own. Most People That Are Not From The Area Will Condemn Just To Get A Discount ..Because They Are FREE-DISCOUNT THIEVES , This Hotel IS Very Clean, Staff Was Very kind to my Family , Very Safe Place To Stay , Breakfast Was nice Continental as promise . IF You Want A Bigger Breakfast Mountain gate resturant IS 500 FT Across The Street.. This Hotel Best Value Good Taste. Encourage all come enjoy your stay

Room Tip: All rooms are good first floor if you too lazy walk stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    79
    55
    59
See reviews for
147
64
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 4 years or soo. The staff have always greeted me and my husband with a wonderful customer service and always went above and beyond their jobs. This year we have came in to the hotel 4 times and finally we are done at this hotel. The rooms are still pretty clean. We are done because when we came into the hotel the hotel desk clerk was sleeping in the desk chair in the lobby area the only way she woke up is because of the bell that rings everytime the front door opened. When we were checking in she was very very rude to us we requested a room with a king size bed she said no I will have you in a room with 2 double bed. I said what about a queen she had a major attuide and said the only queen room we had was 103 right next to the ice maker point added it was like 7 o clock and they only had maybe 5 cars in parking lot. I asked if I could look at it she rudley said I guess soo. We didnt stay in that room because she said changing the room type will take a half hour for the computer system to catch up. She maybe over worked because when we went up for breakfest she was sleeping this time behind the lobby counter we couldnt believe it she must have been out for a while because there was room keys on the counter from other guest so we got what we wanted from the simple breakfest bar if thats what you call it and ate in our room didnt want to wake her up. Then we went up to checked out she was still isleeping in the chair phone was ringing off the hook and housekeeper taped her on the shoulder and said wake up. She check her out and refused to give us a copy of our bill my husband was about to lay into her but I stoped him. If that is how the desk clerks are working and how they deal with customer service latley they dont need my business anymore. Our next trip to thurmont to visit our family will not include super 8.

Room Tip: If you want rude front desk clerks that sleep felt like the whole time then go ahead and book it I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

Texarkana, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nasty bathrooms (urine on back of toilet, thick soap scum on tub) - hair in bed - smoke smelling halls - non existent breakfast - management that doesn't want to be bothered while they talk to family - cant fix billing problems. Pros- beats sleeping in car and a there are a few places to eat that are close. Drive 10 more minutes for another place and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, no fitness center. Extremely basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 498Travelnman498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Returning to this hotel after 6 or so years , we were given a warm welcome . This hotel ticks all the boxes. Clean and comfortable rooms which have been updated since my last visit . The staff are helpful and friendly as ever . It gives you great access to the surrounding area and is a great base for exploring Thurmont, MD.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notorious P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THURMONT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fast check in.staff very pleasant, rooms are very clean wonderful breakfast .was very surpise for the low prices.The hotel is near camp david mason dixie line. real nice food places. the staff help with food menus, my wife has legs problem so bad. carried our bags open the door place everything in the room .turned the heat & Tv on. said good night .

Room Tip: The suites are more roomy. large family can all stay together
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JATIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First time at Super 8.....was very surprised at how nice it was and the price was very reasonable....would stay there the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
15.6 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
654 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
56 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Thurmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Thurmont

Property: Super 8 Thurmont
Address: 300 Tippin Dr, Hwy 15 Exit Hwy 806 Turn West, Thurmont, MD 21788-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Thurmont 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located 15 Miles From Historic Gettysburg Battlefield, 5 Miles From Cunningham Falls State and National Parks and Only 7 Miles from Catoctin Mountain Park Book your room at our Super 8 Thurmont hotel near Cunningham Falls State Park. Located just off Highway 15 between Frederick, MD, and Gettysburg, PA in the Appalachian Mountains and just a short drive to Catoctin Mountain Park, Mount St. Mary's University and Frederick Municipal Airport, our pet-friendly hotel provides comfortable accommodations and friendly service at an affordable rate. Start each day at our Thurmont, MD, hotel with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza and enjoy great in-room amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with a refrigerator are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel, and there is plenty of free parking for your bus, truck or RV. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS If you are an outdoor enthusiast or Civil War buff, you will find great attractions near our Thurmont hotel. Travel north on Highway 15, crossing the Pennsylvania border, to visit the hallowed grounds at Gettysburg National Battlefield Park to see distinctive turning points in the battle at Little Round Top and Devil's Den. Cunningham Falls State Park is a great spot for hiking, fishing and canoeing, just five miles from our hotel, and Catoctin Mountain Park, site of the Camp David presidential retreat, is just 7 miles away from our hotel. The Eisenhower National Historic Site, Barbara Fritchie House and Gambrill State Park are also nearby, and it is just an hour drive to Washington DC. DINING OPTIONS Choose from dozens of family-friendly restaurants just outside our Thurmont hotel starting with Mountain Gate Family Restaurant. Or You could head over to Main Street, and try comfort food at Thurmont Kountry Kitchen. If you're craving Asian you can try Simply Asia, New wing hing, or Peking Palace.Or one of our two Italian restaurants Rocky's or Fratelli's for dine-in or Delivery. You could even head about 10 minutes north on Highway 15 and eat at Fitzgerald's Shamrock, one of Western Maryland's favorite source for casual fine dining. Our little town of Thurmont is also home to a McDonald's, Wendy's, KFC/Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Roy Rogers, Subway and Burger King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Thurmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Thurmont
Thurmont Super 8
Thurmont Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing