We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very disappointing experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cozy Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cozy Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Thurmont B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wedding in Thurmont this past weekend and our family rented four rooms at the Cozy Country Inn. Dissapointment is an understatement. For starters the woman at the front desk was very snippy bordering on being rude. the hotel provided us one small bar of soap for three people When I asked for more it was like asking for the moon. She finally relented and gave us more soap. This is not the way to treat a hotel guest who you want to pay a return visit and recommend the establishment to others.

The room we stayed in which was a one room cottage smelled from mold. There was hole or deep depression beneath the carpet in the middle of the room. It was an accident waiting to happen. Two of my other relatives had other bad experiences with their rooms. One cousin had an near asthmatic attack from the mold and when she told them she had to leave, for health reasons, they would not refund her money. She left anyway.

What is very strange about this inn is that they have a restaurant right next door. It is clean, nice looking with historic ambiance and offers a buffet with 30 choices. The help in the restaurant are all nice and so eager to be pleasing . Its like day versus night compared to the Inn.

My recommendation is that if you have to stay in Thurmont, by all means go to the Cozy Country Inn restaurant for any of its meals but avoid the hotel at all costs until the owners decide to make the necessary repairs, upgrades and train their front desk help to be nice to the customers. .

Room Tip: Our family rented four rooms and no had a good thing to say about any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elliotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    6
    22
See reviews for
17
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sterling, va
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Cozy Inn is nestled at the foot of the Catoctin Mountains in Thurmont, Maryland. It is near Camp David and political dignitaries have visited the Cozy in the past. The Rooms all named for Presidents or news media. My wife and I stayed in the Kennedy Room. A very very nice room. It has a huge king sized bed. My wife said it was the best bed she had ever slept in. The rooms also has a wet bar; a full size TV with all the cable channels;heated towel rack;Coffee maker;small refrigerator;fireplace(that we did not use since it was about 90 degress that day) and a nice big jacuzzi for two that we took full advantage. The rooms was very clean and not trace of anyone staying there before us. It was quiet area too and couldn't hear much of anything outside. It was such a nice getaway for us that we will probably go back quite a bit. Also is very affordable for what you get in return. Highly recommend for a nice couples getaway.

Room Tip: Choose the Kennedy Room or any room on the first floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hallrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a unique hotel in a beautiful part of the Maryland countryside near Camp David. Many rooms are designated to many past presidents and other dignitaries & press groups that visit the area. We stayed in the Rueter's Room. It was roomy & a close walk to the fine restaurant on the grounds. Great bed, & nice comfortable chair with automan. Gas fireplace was cozy & took the chill off on a spring evening. Nice breakfast included. Camp David Museum was interesting feature at restaurant.

Near enough to visit Gettysburg & Cunningham State park.

Room Tip: Look online to choose a presidential or specialty room that has peanuts for Carter room etc. Ours h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway. We were not expecting much due to the totally affordable rooms, but we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Kennedy Suite and it was wonderful! The room was beautiful and the fireplace was visible from 3 sides so wherever you were in the room you could see it. The jacuzzi tub was awesome too! We also went to the fondue restaurant and were treated great and had a blast. Never thought I would want to go back to this area, but would just to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalovesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stay somewhere else.Vicky aint got a clue on running a business.She wrote all the good reviews.Here reviews sound like commercials

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nottohappywithcozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

Hampstead, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My Wife And I Booked A Room For Our Anniversary And We Had Stayed Years Before. However Upon Arrival The Ice Bucket Was Dirty And So Was The Coffee Maker. Then There Was No Hot Water. And The Air Didn't Work. So When I Talked With Management They Were Rude And Unhelpful. They Said It Seems You Are Not Happy So Maybe You Should Find Another Place So We Did. The Hampton In Was Very Nice Clean And The Staff And Management Were 5 Star. I Will Never Go Back To Cozy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

have stayed here several times in several different rooms/cabins, all have been comfortable and well appointed, with differing amenities--- great place to "escape" the I-95 corridor
attached restaurant with very nice buffet (also reviewed)
not a place for those looking for swank or high-living, a simple "country" inn upgraded

Room Tip: browse the website for a room that fits your individual likes and needs, some are rather quirky and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
8.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Thurmont
Super 8 Thurmont
#1 of 1 in Thurmont
3.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Country Inn

Property: The Cozy Country Inn
Address: 103 Frederick Rd, Thurmont, MD 21788-1813
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near points of interest and tourist attractions in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Make your stop a destination of its own. The unique Cozy, est. 1929, is still operated by the founding family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cozy Country Hotel Thurmont
Thurmont Country Inn
Country Inn Thurmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing