We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“always comfortable, some special themed rooms, in room jaccuzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cozy Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cozy Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Thurmont B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“always comfortable, some special themed rooms, in room jaccuzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

have stayed here several times in several different rooms/cabins, all have been comfortable and well appointed, with differing amenities--- great place to "escape" the I-95 corridor
attached restaurant with very nice buffet (also reviewed)
not a place for those looking for swank or high-living, a simple "country" inn upgraded

Room Tip: browse the website for a room that fits your individual likes and needs, some are rather quirky and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    6
    22
See reviews for
17
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Cozy Inn in Thurmont, MD is a very nice facility that has seen better days and needs updating. The staff was more than helpful and the cabin we rented was nice for the price (approximately $70/night). Although the cabin was clean, the flowers on the wall were covered in dust and so the floor behind the mattress. We noticed because we strip beds everywhere we go now to check for nasty pests. The rest of the room was clean, it was just the behind the scenes items. The restaurant onsite is fantastic. The breakfast buffet on the weekends is well worth having. We also had dinner there one night which we ordered off the menu insted of the buffet. The burgers were excellent - not that frozen stuff. I would go back there again, as they were very appreciative when we told them about the dusty flowers, etc. As far as the place needing updating - the highway is right next to the road the Cozy is on and I guess they lost a lot of business when the highway was built. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to visit Gettysburg and surrounding area - try it out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcd0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Before you read the whole review I want you all to know that this is not the Ritz. You can see from the website that this is more of a quaint and historic motel type setting, so nobody should be complaining about it not being 5 star. That being said, my parents and I have come here for 15 years now and its great each time! Each room is different but spacious (get the Johnson, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Clinton, Nixon or any of the cottage rooms). They are the same price as the others, so it's easy to make the choice! Some of them have king sized beds and could be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Breakfast is included (more on that later though) and the ambiance is wonderful. This hotel is great for people who really want a historic hotel, and not a modern hotel with plasma tv's. Although the tvs work great! They even let our little Yorkshire Terrier stay with us for $20, which is the only hotel in the area that would allow him. Dont worry, hes potty trained!

The only reason I wouldnt give this hotel a 5 is because of the breakfast situation on the weekends. Instead of the WONDERFUL continental breakfast you get in the lobby during the week, they give you a voucher to eat a few things at the buffet restaraunt next door. You can either have the limited sleection, (juice, coffee, toast, cereal, etc) or $1 off the price of the whole buffet, which is very pricey. $1 off?? Come on.....We always opt for the limited selection, but every time, the waiters have NO idea what we are talking about. And we show them the voucher as well! It's like they have never even talked to the hotel before that is right next door. Very strange. that this has been going on for so long and not once has a waiter ever understood the voucher!

However, if you eat at the hotel during the week, the lobby breakfast is amazing! Homemade breads, cereal, juice, coffee, pastries, etc.

We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Cozy for 3 nights while reenacting @ Gettysburg. We were late making reservations and this was the closest place we could find. The Cozy is almost like half Bed and Breakfast and half hotel. They have deluxe and regular rooms as well as 1930's style cabins all with names honoring president, press corps, and various famous people who have stayed there over its 80 year history. The room was basic and the bed comfortable but it didn't have amenities like pillow top mattress, flat screen TV, etc. The room was decorated tastefully and was not your blah typical hotel room The room was scrupulously clean. The AC worked but was a old and was a little noisy. The Continental breakfast had 3 kinds of cream cheese but featured only cereal, bagels, apples,oranges, and homemade coffee cake. There were not many protein choices but they had gourmet style coffee. We ate breakfast at the breakfast buffet one day and it was good. There is not much for kids to do (no pool or gym) but we were happy and will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzjd551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Cozy is an Inn. It can almost be classified as a B&B, the rooms are that nice. Very romantic. We stayed two nights, and would have stayed longer given the opportunity. We reserved the Reuters Room with a gas fireplace and kingsize bed. Edie loves a big cushioned chair to relax and read; she got it. DID I SAY FREE WI-FI - oh yea! Close to many restaurants and fast food. There isn't much going on in downtown Thurmont, so relax and enjoy the Cozy Country Inn. DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE "AAA" DISCOUNT? Show your AAA card, the discount is significantly better than most. Based on this site's recommendations we didn't eat at the Cozy restaurant. However, if you like Chinese, the Peking Palace in the Thurmont Plaza on N.Church St is a must. We will definitely return here on our next trip to Frederick, MD; but we're going to upgrade to an executive room for more frills.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandEdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

For about 115 a night I stayed in the Roosevelt Room over a weekend. The bed, while looking a little tacky, was very comfortable. The Jacuzzi could fit 4 people in it, and the entire room was quite comfy. The pictures on their website make it look much smaller than it actually is. I could hear folks walking around upstairs, or getting into bed, which was a little off putting, but I can't complain too much about that. It would be awkward if my wife was around, however...

The staff was very nice, I had to make some last minute changes and swap rooms, but they gave me no trouble at all in doing so.

The gift shop was a little unreasonable, $14.99 mugs? Come on! The girl working the check out was very nice though. The Camp David "museum" was cute, but smaller than expected. The restaurant/buffet was ok, a little pricey on the menu, but good food. I didn't sample the buffet because it did not really appeal to me. The service was great though.

All in all, for what I came out to do; hiking in Catoctin Mtn Park, I had a great time. After a real long day hike, the jacuzzi was awesome and the bed was very inviting. The town doesn't have too much to offer, but I am planning on bringing my wife back with me next time to try out some of the other executive rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okidokedork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Staff was nice,but the place needs work.The food was bad,and was cold.The room,smelled funny,a/c was loud,my ankles had flea bites on them.I had to go to the CVS to get medicine

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickysmells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
8.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Waynesboro
14.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Country Inn

Property: The Cozy Country Inn
Address: 103 Frederick Rd - Route 806, Thurmont, MD 21788
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near points of interest and tourist attractions in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Make your stop a destination of its own. The unique Cozy, est. 1929, is still operated by the founding family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cozy Country Hotel Thurmont
Thurmont Country Inn
Country Inn Thurmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing