We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

After dropping my daughter off at a near by summer camp, spent a delightful weekend with girlfriends in the "Phenix" cabin. Clean, quiet, good use of space...Debbie and her family were wonderful hosts! Big pool, general store with the very basic basics. Close to Cunningham State Park and Mountain Gate Family Restaurant (save room for the pie!) if you are looking for excitement, wrong place. And regarding the campers, they are under year long leases and the campees decorate their areas with nice lighting and kitschy signage. We were sad to leave!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gotsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights in February. Our cabin was quite cozy and stayed warm with the fire place going. Although it was only one room, we did not feel cramped. The kitchen was well-equipped; we cooked each meal in and were not lacking in any impliments.
There is a town nearby with a grocery store and liquor store that sells wine, beer, etc plus a few restaurants that we did not go to.
We saw a few shield bugs but when you are in a cabin in the forest that is to be expected.
The bed was comfortable. Note you will need to bring all of your own bed linens, towels, etc but there is a quilt on the bed.
We left the cabin as we would have left our own home and later we got a letter in the mail with a VIP card so when we book in the future we won't have to pay a security deposit- hooray for that!

It was cold so we did not enjoy any of the outdoor activitites the area has to offer (park, hiking, etc) but there is a pretty big antique mall not too far away in Emmitsburg. That town also has one little coffee shop called Holy Grounds in case you need a latte.

The grounds of the Ole Mink Farm have many RV's so you are not in a secluded location but that did not bother us as it was cold and we did not spend time outside.

I would recommend the cabins and we will probably be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OCcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was an interesting place on the edge of The Catoctin Forest and Cunningham Falls State Park. The cabins were well appointed, cute and varied in size and design to suit the needs of different families. They were super clean and well maintained and their pet friendly policies were particularly appreciated. The only problem with this "resort" (as they call it) is the view of camper trailers from nearly every window and porch. If you aren't a "camper" person you probably won't care for it too much. But, if you like to travel with Fido and you're willing to forsake a more natural view for a cute cabin that is close to wonderful trails, streams and forest, then you will get along just fine.

Room Tip: The round cabin at the top of the hill is the most secluded, has a great screened-in porch with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VAsokrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Line, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Nice, cozy resort. Friendly staff that went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. Cabin was clean, and we liked the attention to detail in the decor. Grounds were well maintained. Nice large swimming pool. Will go back again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveforOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
15.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort

Property: Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort
Address: 12806 Mink Farm Rd, Thurmont, MD 21788-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over five decades, Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort has been family owned and operated. Private luxury log cabins, log cabinettes, seasonal campsites, and a rental hall located in the Catoctin Mountains. Many pet friendly options available. Seclusion so close to home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing