We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went twice on our week vacation.”

Mountain Gate Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Thurmont
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Platteville, WI
Level Contributor
170 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We went twice on our week vacation.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stumbled on to this place just pulling off the exit ramp and saw the billboard sign. We saw $7.50 for lunch buffet and knew we were in the right place. Every single item is hot and homemade. I counted 16 different pies!. Many breads and desserts, salads to go with good ol hone cook in' .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    60
    42
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We drive 350 miles to go to this restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have gone to this restaurant the last 3 Thanksgivings and drive 350 miles from home to go there ! We also go to Gettysburg 4-5 times a year and always make the drive at least 2-3 times during our stay to eat there. The food is awesome and go on different days to get the full range of the buffet. Most times you can go right to a table, but even on Thanksgiving with a reservation and a 45 minute wait it was well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving breakfast, about like a hotel freebie”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was Thanksgiving morning, so I can't say how that affected things, but the buffet was below average. Nothing awful, just comparable to a decent free hotel buffet, with crisp bacon, but long-standing eggs and pancakes, little fresh fruits, and packaged danish. The rolls would probably have been pretty good if they were not, they were not. I suggest ordering from the menu, as at least one nearby diner did so and their meal looked better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are frequent patrons at this particular restaurant - the service is outstanding and the food excellent on weekends - we have only had one experience there that was unpleasant - a Friday morning breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired - the choices are minimal on weekdays in our opinion. Other than that we've always enjoyed every aspect of the buffet from the awesome fried chicken to the veggies..mashed potatoes and yellow gravy....crab soup and the list can go on and on for the weekend buffet. I love the offer of ice cream after the main course - and the pecan pie is to die for..Yummy

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlfox32240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Md
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Belly buster meals”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hard to stay on a diet hear. Great comfort food, everything from vegies to carbs to soups to salads, even a carving station. And then the desserts, you can't have just one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Foxwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Gate Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Gate Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing