We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #264 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean. Service good. Very good location. Only 2 blocks from empire state bldg. Near 7th ave. We liked breakfadt included with the room. It was very.nice and convient we didn't have to look or buy breakfast which is a savings in NYC. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    1,079
    354
    118
    137
See reviews for
546
804
173
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Surprisingly large and updated room for a Manhattan hotel. Nicely appointed, even had reading lights on either side of the bed which was a king size tempurpedic (memory foam) and extremely comfortable! Good size desk, dresser and plenty of room to walk around. Great water pressure in the shower too. Breakfast was nothing special but at least it got you started except that there was no coffee creamer. You had to use the cereal milk machine...ridiculous. Great location, easy walk to many attractions and easy to catch the subway.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room in the back, not facing 32nd St which can be busy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenB667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Although this hotel is relatively close to some great sights I would not go back there because it is in a very dirty and sketchy area, although the hotel itself was decent, the front staff was rude and the "breakfast" was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Richard A,
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is located in Little Korea on 32nd Street, which is convenient to many other sights and subway lines. Unfortunately, we have no control over how dirty the sidewalks may appear. However, we can assure you that the area is not sketchy and is in fact very safe. It is a vibrant street where many of the restaurants are open 24/7.
Our front desk staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible, but we are sorry you found them rude. We will continue to work with them to better our guests’ experiences. We also continually reevaluate our free breakfast to make improvements there as well.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We didn't arrive to NYC until Saturday night so decided to stay somewhere on the cheaper side since we weren't going to be there long. This hotel does not even justify as a cheap hotel, it was downright awful. From the minute we walked in the door we had a horrible experience. The lady at the front desk was completely rude, we asked to have an extra room key, they told us that an additional fee. I have never had to pay for an additional room key. The elevators are beyond slow, so once we finally got to our room, it was another disappointment. The lady at the front desk told us we had one of their nicer rooms, needless to say, let's hope she was lying. Our room was so small we could barely roll in our suitcases. There was minimal space to walk if you had luggage and the air-conditioning made horrible noises. We decided to clean up, another mistake, the shower pressure was awful. We tried to go up to the rooftop bar because we had heard great things about it, once we finally got on the elevator to go up there it was so small there were no places to sit and we stood at the bar waiting to be served for over 15 minutes before we left. When finally got a few hours of sleep but woke up in the morning with bites all over our legs. We decided to call our other hotel and get an early check in so that we could start enjoying our time in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lm1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear IM1315,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were not happy with your stay. Our staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work with them to ensure that all guests receive excellent customer service. All of our guest rooms were recently renovated. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are pretty typical of hotel room sizes found in Manhattan. We apologize for any inconvenience. Our rooftop bar is popular with guests and locals alike and offer stunning views of the Empire State Building.
We have not received any recent complaint from guests about bites and we wish you had told us. We take any suspicions of bed bugs very seriously and always investigate a room that could possibly be infected.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future to impress you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I will start by saying that usually I have nothing but love for La Quinta hotels in general. I have stayed in a few and am usually happy with the place. Which is why when my parents and I were looking for a place to stay in NYC I suggested this hotel. BIG MISTAKE.
It started the day of arrival, July 8. We were coming into town after a 9 hour drive from Maine. We were exhausted and were looking forward to a comfortable room and bed. We knew that NYC would be busy and were somewhat unsure of what to expect when we arrived at the hotel. When we found the hotel, we were surprised that there was no place for patrons checking in to park and unload. We dropped my dad off to go in and check in while I drove around the block (which is no easy feat in NYC). When I came back around, my dad was out and already upset. Apparently, we were directed to park in the Public Parking garage and we would have to unload there. This garage was not across from the hotel and not convenient for we had to drive around the block AGAIN. My mother is not ambulatory and has to use a wheelchair, so we had to push her as well as all our luggage from the garage to the hotel. We were told that a handicapped room was not immediately available, but that if we wanted to change rooms the next day we could. Mind you, we made these room reservations over a month in advance. My dad told them there were 3 people occupying the room and was then told that the room only had a King bed but that we could add a roll away bed for an extra charge. We declined
Our room was on the second floor. It was a closet! Very small, especially for someone who has limited mobility and must use a wheelchair. If this was the size of the room with 2 beds, we figured the handicapped room with one bed would be the same and then where would the roll away bed go??
The next day, we were going to sightsee. The bellman was very helpful when it came to using the motorized lift for the wheelchair. Everything was fine. We came back around 3pm and pulled up to the lift where we were told it had been disabled by another patron. The bellman and maintenance were accommodating and provided a portable ramp. They helped push the chair up and it was fine. However, we got up to our room and it had not been cleaned! We were gone for 8 and a half hours. We were too tired to move out for the cleaning lady when she did show up, around 3:30, so we just asked her to leave us towels and toilet paper. Which she did.
On our last day, we had another day of sightseeing planned. The automatic lift still had not been repaired, so they had to use the portable ramp again. Again, we were gone all day (8 hours) and upon our return our room had not been cleaned! We left our room and waited in the lobby for 40 minutes while our room was attended to.
On our day of checkout, was the final straw. The desk crew were very rude and unfeeling when it came time to check out. When my dad asked if they validated for the parking, he was told no that he was responsible for the $40 a day parking fee! This was NOT made clear to him when we checked in nor was it indicated on the hotel website.
On top of everything else, the A/C in the room was ridiculous. There was no happy medium. Your room had to be either too hot or too cold. The only view out the window was above the trash cans, I think, so the room was very dark even with the lights on.
This La Quinta was quite the disappointment. From the Front Desk, to the room size, to the cleaning staff, to the A/C. The only plus was the bellman (unfortunately I didn't catch his name). He went out of his way to make sure my mom was able to enter and exit the hotel as easily as she could with her wheelchair and for him, we were grateful.
I would not and will not recommend this hotel to anyone. This will not deter me from staying at other La Quintas, just not this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Heidi W.
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. Manhattan is a busy area, so there is not much room to park on the street for long periods of time. Upon check-in, we did offer you valet parking, which would have saved you the trouble of walking from the garage with your luggage. We also offered you an accessible king bed room, which you declined. The room you were placed in is one of our larger rooms. Hotel rooms in Manhattan can run on the small side, but most of ours are about average, though they do vary somewhat in size.
We’re sorry your room was not cleaned when you came back from sightseeing. You can always request that your room be cleaned earlier and it will become a priority for the housekeeping staff. Our staff has many rooms to clean especially when we are sold out. However, we apologize for this inconvenience.
The parking rate for an SUV is $40 per day, which the guests are responsible for themselves. This is clearly stated on the website and in our welcome letter. It is a reduced rate from their typical day rates.
The majority of our guests are very happy and satisfied with their stay. We offer comfortable, clean accommodations in a great location in an expensive city. In addition, we offer free breakfast, wi-fi, and domestic phone calls, which isn’t something you’ll see in all Manhattan hotels.
We hope you will reconsider us for any future trips to New York.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

La Quinta Inn Manhattan located in the Koreatown which is very convenient. We only travelled with backpack and carry-on luggage, so we took the LIRR from Jamaica Center to Penn Station and then walk 15 minutes to the hotel. 34St-Herald Station is just around the corner with subway trains that take us to the Central Park and Time Square. We even walked back to the hotel from Time Square and from Chelsea. Macy's, H&M, Empire State Building are just behind us on 34th St.

Front desk staff are very helpful and welcoming. We were greeted by the staff in the hallway and at the entrance. Our room was clean. The lobby and breakfast area are modern and comfortable. We asked the cleaning staff not to clean our room on the second day and she even asked if we need any toilet supplies.

I have to agree with some contributors about the elevator wait especially during breakfast hours and evening when the pub opens at 5pm.

If you are AAA member, make sure to book with your special rate. The room rate that we paid is relatively less than the hotels in the same area. With free breakfast, free WIFI and central location, it is definitely a steal.

Room Tip: We heard car honking from our room at around 1am and after. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Have just left here after a 3 day stay. Cannot fault the hotel in anyway. Had a huge room on the second floor, 2 queen beds with plenty of extra room to move around. Nicely updated with a big closet and great bathroom. Hotel is in Korea Town and close to everything. Great location. Tom at the front desk was wonderful. Breakfast was good. Beautiful view from the rooftop bar. I would definitely recommend La Quinta Manhattan to anyone coming to the city, great price and again AWESOME!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodforThought23
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#305 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,461 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#295 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#291 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#297 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
Midtown
Herald Square Hotel
Herald Square Hotel
#285 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#259 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, LaQuinta, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing