We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #291 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the money”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Location was awesome, walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and other landmarks.
The continental breakfast was good. The beds where amazing, very comfortable.
Not a lot of bells and whistles but for the money it was great.
We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmunoz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    1,214
    415
    132
    157
See reviews for
617
946
194
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Although the location is really good (just a street lower than the Empire State B, around the block from Herald Square and on what they call Korean Ave - lostuv Korean restaurants), the hotel was a big letdown.
Room 213 -- Really small room in the corner near very noisy AC units right outside the window.
WORSE - I specifically requested a well ventilated room due to my wife's alergy problems. The room was a smoking room I think (at least it smelled that way) and it wasn't cleaned form the previous guest. The sheets weren't changed and everything smelt like cigarrete smoke.
The only reason we didn't ask for a change was because we were so tired and had to wake up early.

Room Tip: don't get 213 and better off higher than the 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear SteveMadrid,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms are about average size for hotel rooms in Manhattan, but there is some variation in size. We can assure you that all rooms are cleaned thoroughly between guests and all the sheets are changed. If you felt the room wasn’t cleaned to your liking we could have cleaned it again or moved you to a different room. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. In addition to the location they enjoy the overall value and customer service they receive. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Arrived half hour before check inn , no problem ! Given our room straight away , lobby a bit haphazard due to renovation but wasnt a big issue !!
Room spotless and pretty standard for the city ,
Great free and plentiful breakfast too set you up for the day !
Excellent wifi !
Absolutely brilliant location , walking distance from penn station , and Macys . 30 footsteps max off 5th ave !
All in all great stay , would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Campsieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This La Quinta is in process of being renovated. The room is small but this is Manhattan. The weekend before Christmas was very busy but the hotel was clean and service was friendly. The breakfast is left to be desired. The lobby was under major construction and the loud busy crowd acted like scavengers. I would stay here again but not for the breakfast. The breakfast included needs to be completely ignored.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in Manhattan before booking La Quinta. My main source was a Washington Post article on hotels for 200 dollars or less - the most useful article I found. I booked La Quinta because it was close to a subway, close to Penn Station, and close to two main bus routes that ran up either side of Central Park. It proved to be a very good choice and I would go back again. Disadvantages: the room was very small, but this is Manhattan after all; there was a very small lift serving fourteen floors; the lady at the 'tourist' desk was not very helpful; the breakfast area was very small. Advantages: generally friendly staff; a high standard of cleanliness; a reasonable breakfast plus wi-fi included in the price; close proximity to transport; literally steps from the Empire State Building and an absolutely amazing view of the ESB from a rooftop bar on the 14th floor; numerous eating places within easy walking distance - but I personally would avoid Korean restaurants as I had a particularly bad meal at one of them. If you want to stay in New York without breaking the bank - especially if you come from somewhere with a rather challenged currency, as I do - this is a good choice.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th floor and the room was very quiet. If you don't want to wait for the lift, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Never would I have thought to stay in "Korea Town," or a La Quinta in New York. I am so glad that they had rooms for us and the price was fairly reasonable. This is a great little hotel, right in the middle of everything. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, attractions, transportation, etc. The rooms were large, by New York standards and clean. The free breakfast wasn't all that great and coffee not-so-good. But hey; free is free. The real gem is their rooftop bar and outdoor deck. The bar itself is stocked with a huge selection of craft beers, bourbons, vodkas, wines, etc. The deck has hear lamps and a second-to-none view of the Empire State Building. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for business or family travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_Ba928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#323 of 467 in New York City
2,733 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#359 of 467 in New York City
181 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#311 of 467 in New York City
1,622 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 467 in New York City
3,526 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing