We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location ... Average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location ... Average service”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After doing hours and hours of research on finding a reasonable priced with great location hotel in NYC.. I came across a great price on Expedia.
Upon arrival, the lady at the front desk gave us the impression that 'we were not good enough to be staying here' and was not very helpful however the location of this Hotel was perfect - between Grand Central and Time Square. You are hardly at your hotel but the rooms are good for when you are there.
Definatly book this Hotel based on its location :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced at the front front desk. Your concerns are distressing and will be immediately addressed with the front office director. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    3,077
    2,020
    1,064
    726
See reviews for
2,362
2,519
330
1,112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped at this hotel as part of a trip and then stayed on a few extra days. I read the reviews and tried to go there with an open mind but everything people are saying was true. Some of the staff were very nice, others were down right rude. We witnessed a few arguments between staff and clients while on our visit. We found our room open on our return from a day out and reported it, expecting some explanation but none came so the next day we asked at reception so as not to have a repeat of the incident. Not a sorry or anything in fact it was a case of please move along we are busy, we have spoken to the maid. Once we had booked out and was waiting for a shuttle bus which was late the staff were not interested in our problem, they would not phone up for us and just told us to get a cab. The location was excellent and helped the holiday. I was our first visit to New York for our wedding anniversary but we did get a card and some fruit from the staff for that so not all bad and New York is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfromNorthants33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addresses with the rooms manager. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Large, grand and slightly faded, the Roosevelt is conveniently located close to Grand Central. Rooms tend to be small and the decor isn't modern. Fitness center is better equipped than most so that's a plus. Had dismal experience in their rooftop lounge, with expensive drinks and bad service. Lobby bar and front desk staff were more professional and helpful. Happy to stay here with a good rate ($200 or less) but would be bummed if paid full rack rate expecting something special. Overall, a good deal in a nicely located hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes our affordable room rates and central location con not be beat. Our apologies for any issues you experienced at MAD46. We will certainly address this with the lounge manager immediately. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The central lobby is stunningly plush and elegant and our room was of a reasonable size with good washing facilities. Top marks to the delightful cleaning lady who treated us as if we were really special, Bottom marks for the air conditioning in our room which was so noisy we had to turn it off. Staff behind the desks were very helpful but we found it hard dealing with disgruntled baggage staff who clearly expected a bigger tip for looking after our luggage on the last day even though it was part of the service. We never ate in because of the expense but found excellent cafe's and restaurants nearby - thoroughly recommend Gregory's Coffee Shop nearby for coffee, croissants and cakes. Ideally placed for exploring New York. Just next to the fabulous Grand Central Station and its many and diverse eating outlets. A few blocks away from Times Square and Bryant Park and a bit further to Central Park. All very convenient for those willing to walk and easy for those needing to take the Metro from Grand Central. Don't be deceived by the sense of luxury, you are going to New York mostly for the sights, not the bedrooms! There may be cheaper and perfectly good accommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: There seem to be no views from rooms. Don't worry about how many floors. There are six lifts - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris and Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your overall stay was great. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked this hotel through hotwire and got a great rate so I am glad I didn't pay full price. The lobby is still stunning and the rooms are updated, but the standard room with two beds is tiny. There isn't any room for a table to put your bag so we had to put it on the floor. Plus the windows were so filthy that we could barely see out of them. The hotel did give nice fluffy towels though. The maid service came at 8:45 in the morning while we were still sleeping. I forgot to put the DND sign out the night before because I figured we'd be up by 10. But who comes at 8:45am to clean the rooms when checkout isn't until noon?? When we checked out, a line of guests were waiting at the same time. Five staff members were manning the front desk but only one was greeting the guests so it took a while to check out. I don't know what the other four staff members were doing because they weren't on the phone. The concierge and the doormen were pretty knowledgeable about where to eat and how to get around. I think I'll try other places in Manhattan before I stay here again.

Room Tip: Standard double rooms are tiny, so choose a larger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl53156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was good however, our apologies for any of the mention issues you experienced. Your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in the Roosevelt very much, they were very helpful from the moment we arrived. Our bags had been lost somewhere between Sydney and New York and they did a very good job at contacting the airlines and helping us get our bags but in the mean time, they gave us all the supplies we needed for that night. e.g toiletries and robes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _hannarosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that our friendly staff did assist you during a minor crises. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After seeing others' reviews, we were a little uneasy when we Hotwired this hotel for a last minute NYC stay. Other than the criticisms of the front desk staff, we didn't experience any of the issues some reviewers did. As others have mentioned, this is an old NYC property. Reception and the lobby are stunning, refurbished recently enough with great attention to period details. The front desk staff were awful: universally bored, disinterested, inefficient, unsmiling, slow and utterly inhospitable. The coup de grace was the unethical concierge, when specifically asked she conveniently "forgot" the name of the famous Bobby Van's steakhouse that's literally a block away from the hotel but was happy to steer us toward another, presumably they kick back more.
However, the room - 1705 - was clean, average New York City sized, with a very comfortable king sized bed, a desk and chair, an upholstered chair, and a unit that held TV on top, a big shelf under for ice bucket etc., and a few drawers underneath. The A/C kept us in chilly comfort the entire time, was reasonably quiet, but we did need to tuck the drapes when closed up onto the window sill to keep the drapes from blocking the A/C. The bathroom was small, but clean, with a light up magnifying makeup/shaving mirror and big tub for soaking in. Water temp fluctuated a little but nothing traumatic. There were a few small upkeep items that had been missed, a sloppy mismatched repair where the shower curtain rod had been pulled down, wallpaper lifting above the A/C, and we would have had a nice view if somebody had made the construction people put away their equipment and trash on the rooftop area right outside our window before quitting for the weekend. Other service issues included room service - they never did answer their phone so we could order, and a bizarre policy of making guests come to the desk and present their valet check in order to get their cars instead of being able to call down. The rooftop bar, Mad46 offers good night time views and a nice but young vibe after you go through the gauntlet of doorman, following someone through a labyrinth of corridors, then elevator operator, then another host. Quiet at 10PM on a Saturday, and they closed at 11 which was weird. Cosi across the street was good for breakfast and a lunch on the run. Starbucks 1 block south on Madison and one block east toward GCT

Room Tip: Not about room choice but if you are coming into GCT, take the escalators up from the Clock Concours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbaker8272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay was good. Our apologies for any issues you experienced. These concerns will be addressed. Again our apologies and thanks for your feedback. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,976 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,961 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,327 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,985 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing