We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Grand hotel lobby with a bar and restaurant with lifts opposite reception . Check in was pleasant enough which then we where shown our rooms after a short lift ride . The room was in need of a bit of tlc and was a bit noisy but being in such a good location more than made up for it . We enjoyed the stay And the help from the guy on the customer service desk was very helpful

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank murraylawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our central location, comfy room, and friendly staff. Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    3,077
    2,020
    1,064
    726
See reviews for
2,362
2,519
330
1,112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel is historic and I have never seen a grander entrance, the rooms are a little bit dated and the bathroom could totally do with a refurb but still enjoyed it. We had a twin room and the room was big enough for what we needed although I would have like more storage space as for a room for 4 people the wardrobe ws tiny and only about 10 hangers max. Location wise it's great as your 1 block from 5th Avenue and only a few blocks further up to Times Square. Staff very friendly and overall as we spent very little time in our room it suited our needs. Wifi worked well although the rate could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. You are correct, our central location can not be beat. We are perfect for shopping, business, sight seeing, and of course all of Broadway. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

For being in New York, it was good enough!! We literally used our beds to just collapse and fall asleep. It is in a good location right across from Grand Central Station. It was a small room, but it was comfortable enough for 4 people. When we got to the hotel, it was too early to check in, but they kept our bags safe for us in another room. Very pleased! Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. You are correct; our central location cannot be beat. We are perfect for shopping, business, sight-seeing, and of course all of Broadway. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

If you're going to New York, this is a great location for your stay, very central and very easy to find. The hotel lobby and public areas are very grand, and the service very good. It asks you to pay for wifi, but we were not charged which was very nice. The rooms we spacious and well equipped but the bathrooms could do with some love - this was the only downside. The room we had was quite noisy with works going on outside during the night, but apart from that, a great stay in a brilliantly located hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAllisterandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a Great stay. You are correct, our central location can not be beat. We are perfect for shopping, business, sight seeing, and of course all of Broadway. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Desperately in need of a refurbishment. .. sometimes compromised and tired interiors can be forgiven by excellent service but when your bell boy tells you they will store your luggage for you if you tip, the service makes you feel like wanting to have a leisurely breakfast is an inconvenience to the staff and your bar and public restrooms are in need of a clean and staff advise there's nothing they can do as they're the only ones they have, you've gotta ask yourself why the heck you booked the place!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Only stayed here for a night. Fairly priced for the location, but the room was a shoebox in comparison to other hotels in NYC for same price. The shower doors closed from the back of the shower so once you turn it on you better be able to get in and close both sliding glass shower doors before the water completely soaks the floor. We paid extra money for what we thought was a bigger room, but ended up being just a bigger bed which probably added to making the room feel small. Nice Flat screen TV, AC worked great. Bar at the Hotel was about the same as any other bar in the city as far as prices go. Don't think I would stay here again, nothing special about this place.

Room Tip: The higher the Floor the more of a View you will probably have
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies we did not meet your expectations during your last visit. Regarding the size of the room, guest rooms in NYC do tend to be on the cozy side especially when compared to other major cities or one's own home. Again our apologies and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Chosen for a Family reunion for its great location & old style new your style from the images we saw on their website.
However from the moment we arrived the front desk gave us problems & excuses. Every one of the receptionists at the front desk should be fired as they were either just plain unhelpful, or actually rude. I even asked one of the receptionists (Ms. MANA WONG) and I quote: " are you actually always this rude to customers ...... and she replied with "YES!!!"
Wow.

As well as being good at being rude, she was obviously very experienced in it, that she would not even let her name badge be seen for fear of any complaint procedure.
I got round that by taking a picture of her, telling her that was for my report ......... & magically the manager arrived (Jose Miller) in seconds - probably after she had pushed some sort of hidden button.
He was more concerned about me taking pictures to start with, but after I told him I would delete it, only if he gave me her full name & position in the company, he started taking me seriously & complied.

He was actually very helpful & understood out situation & went back behind the desk & took over & sorted out the first of the problems with the errors they had made with our booking.

In our stay of 7 days, we never found a single interested or enthusiastic receptionist, they were all terrible. We had to have three other meetings with different managers to sort out further problems, being sloppy & rude receptionists, lack of booking information & errors, & poor solutions with dealing with us.

They got our room reservation wrong - it was for two twin bedded rooms close together - and we had booked 2 months in advance too.
The first room was OK, but amazingly small. Ok it is Manhattan, I understand that, but the room photography on their website could only be taken with remotely operated cameras, as if there was anyone in one of the rooms you would have seen them in the fisheye lens, with the rooms being so small. At least the beds were actually good.

Then when the remaining 2 family arrived, at 1am due to airline problems, they then told us they had given their room away. After a session of rudeness by the receptionist we eventually got another manager, who upgraded them to a suite - nice you might think - but only one super king sized bed for two individuals. After waiting & phoning many times eventually an uninterested guy arrived with a fold out camp bed after 40 mins. Perhaps they should have just camped in Central Park as it would have been cheaper, easier & faster to get to sleep !!!!!!!!!!!

The next day they obviously wanted the suite for "more Important people" as the two sleeping in there were constantly hassled from very early in the morning, asking if they were ready to check out into the other room they had now found - very Annoying.
The hotel said the only rooms were on another floor miles away, so that took another long session with the rude reception staff, before the duty manager arrived & he magically found a room just a few doors away from the other in the party.
Despite the manager ordering the bell boy to move the bags & ourselves calling several times, no one came to move the bags, & so we were all involved in moving the bags out selves, which was very poor.

Lifts so slow that we walked down from the 7th floor regularly rather than wait. For several days we found that half the lifts & lobby was actually shut off to us. There were people everywhere as a film or TV episode was being filmed and was causing a huge wait for everything.
I did not book this hotel to be in a TV show - the paying customers in the hotel need to come first, not be treated like second class citizens when the big bucks of Warner come knocking.

We only had one drink in the bar, as the bar staff was so poor too, that it was bordering on plain rude too. Despite being British I fully understand tipping & how bar staff work in the US, but placing the initial order (4 bottles too, so super fast - no prep needed) was the worse experience I have had in any bar in 18 years of visiting the US.
There were some new yorkers visiting the bar for a drink that were not staying in the hotel. Why they were there I had no idea - as even the street vendors with a huge line of hungry lunchtime workers were more courteous, slicker & faster.


None of us were NYC first timers either, & all have visited New York before too, so understand the pace & style of the city.


The interesting thing I have seen is reading the reviews here on Tripadviser.
The management keep on using the same old cut & pasted response to all complaints ....... but clearly are doing NOTHING about any of the problems.
Just take a look for yourselves at the review history here on tripadviser, where the guest relations manager tells us that ALL concerns will be immediately addressed - HAHAHAHA!
By Immediately Addressed what they actually mean is put in a folder & 100% ignored of course.


NOTHING EVER GETS DONE despite the growing list of complaints here.
I wonder what the response will be to MY complaint here ....... Same old same old I am sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. Regarding as to what our response will be..... When any issue is mentioned in these reviews and keep in mind these are anonymous, We do share each and every comment and review with the staff and department managers. There is much discussion as to how we can better improve our product and services. If a specific name of an associate is mentioned in reference to poor service then there is appropriate coaching, counseling, and discipline regarding said associate. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,976 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,961 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,327 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,985 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing